First post

I’ve been trying to think of a way to compile some of the costume research, ideas, and inspiration in a way that I could get feedback from other costumers, be able to add ideas either at home, or away, and look back at my progress.  I hope this is it!

I’ve been thinking about this for a while, but some “spare” time and this blog: http://www.ittybittyevilkitty.com is what sort of pushed me over the edge. 

Right now, my costume interest has been largely focused around Steampunk.  I’ve long loved the neo-Victorian look, however it hasn’t been very popular, and I like the idea of having people “get” what it is I’m doing, vs. just thinking “why would you wear a bustle?”  Steampunk seems to be underground enough to make me happy, but well-known enough that it shouldn’t be as hard to summarize. 

Plus… there are Steampunk meet ups here in Calgary!  I’ve been feeling somewhat unsatisfied with a lack of social diversity, and I’m vaguely hoping that when I find the time to get out to things, that this might bring a new option for socializing and meeting new people.

So, onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

