Steampunk – Music, Movies & Literature

Steampunk – Music, Literature, Movies, etc.

I don’t really get the chance to see a lot of movies – movies aren’t really my thing, but I enjoy them most on video when I can pause them, to look at great costumes.
Although it’s unlikely that I’ll have the opportunity to remember everything right now, hopefully as I remember things, see things, listen to things, I’ll be able to come back and add to this list.

I’m looking at Victorian/neo-Victorian/Steampunk inspiration – great music to put me in the right mood/mindset, great movies to inspire cool costumes, etc…

Music:
The Moulettes – Susan turned me onto this band a few months back, and upon first listen they reminded me a lot of if Emilie Autumn and Dido got abducted by Victorian Gypsies and made a pop(ish) record. Cool

Abney Park – I know this is one of the “typical” Steampunk bands, but I only just picked up one of their albums, and have only listened to it in the background so far.

Emilie Autumn – I have a few of her albums, and some of the music has a neo-Victorian vibe (with the harpsicord sounds for instance) plus she definitely rocks the neo-Victorian vibe in her album art!

Rasputina – This is one of the “I really should like it, but haven’t gotten into it yet” pile – between the music (cello rock!) and the image (hot gals in corsets and Victorian underwear!). But… everytime I listen to clips of their songs on iTunes, there are always other albums that I would rather watch.

Sunday Driver – I only just heard about this one – haven’t heard of any of their tunes, but apparently it’s very similar to Abney Park in the Steampunk-appropriateness.

Literature:
So, I found a list on http://www. etsy.com/storque/spotlight/trends-penny-dreadfully-steampunk-330 talking about some of the authors that would be excellent to inspire Steampunk imagery. The author suggested H.G. Wells, Jules Verne, and Mary Shelly for starters… but I got to thinking that if I’m more looking for costume inspiration, then movies might work a bit better…

H.G. Wells : The Time Machine, The Invisible Man, The Island of Doctor Moreau, The War of the Worlds, The First Men in the Moon, The Shape of Things to Come, etc..
Jules Verne: Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea, Journey To The Center Of The Earth, Around the World in Eighty Days, etc…
Mary Shelly: Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus, The Last Man, The Fortunes of Perkin Warbeck, Falkner, etc…

Movies:
Sky Captain and the world of tomorrow – I think I have this movie, and remember it being pretty interesting in terms of the alternate-past elements.


20,000 Leagues under the sea – I don’t even remember this one…. But I think we have it somewhere.
League of Extraordinary Gentlemen
Frankenstein
Wild Wild West
Mysterious Island
Sweeney Todd
Nanny McPhee
Sherlock Holmes
From Hell

http://www.steampunkstories.com/2009/12/steampunk-movies/ also suggests:
The Adventures of Baron Munchausen
Back to the future
Van Helsing (yep.. I can see that one)
Indiana Jones
Young Sherlock Holmes

http://www.squidoo.com/steampunk-movies also adds:
The Prestige – never even heard of this one
The Golden Compas
Lemony Snicket’s A series of unfortunate events
Hellboy (? Having never seen it, I can’t say one way or another, but this isn’t one I would have thought of.
The Time Machine
And Sleepy Hollow – how could I have forgotten about that one?

http://brassgoggles.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=13126.0 also has a huge list – but the comments (and I agree) that there are a lot in the list that probably don’t belong….

Then of course there are tv shows – less available generally though, so I wouldn’t really consider them a good source… There is a Canadian show Murdock Mysteries which is set in the right era, though I find their costuming generally uninspiring.

So, what am I missing – or what should I check out?

3 comments on “Steampunk – Music, Movies & Literature

  1. Dawn says:

    As for music, I’ve also heard of the Clockwork Dolls – http://www.myspace.com/theclockworkdolls Opinion – nice to listen to as background music, but I dont think I’d buy an album.

  2. Dawn says:

    I just found a little list I had posted at work, which has a few other musical suggestions;
    Unextraordinary Gentlemen & Tin Hat Trio – eventually I’ll find the time to YouTube or Last.fm them.. I hope!

  3. […] rather than just posting more of the musical links into the comments of my previous post, I figured that I would do yet another post on […]

Leave a Reply

