Steampunk – accessories – jewelery

Steampunk – accessories – jewelery

One of the items I mentioned in my accessories round-up was a pocket-watch.  I have a few vintage watches, though they lack femininity.  I have seen a few small, ladies pocket-watches kicking around (largely on Etsy, but also at the recent Arts Market at my work) but they’ve seemed out of my price range or just not quite right…

I was over at the bead store in Northland Village shops (looking for flat-back bails, which I have looked for in a number of stores and only found one style at Michael’s) and saw watch components that were much more affordable than the ones I’ve seen at other shops.  Plus – they had lots of different styles and colours.  While some were pop-art inspired and entirely too modern for my use, they also had a few more traditional, or even ‘old-fashioned’ ones that were quite nice.

I ended up picking up a few things to make my own small version of a ladies pocket-watch…. (Oh, and they have a number of styles of flat-back bails too!)

What I picked up:

  • The watch face  – which is really just like what you’d put on a band and wear as is.  The idea is that you make your Watch face, chain, and bead goodiesown bead band, and then attach it, but this works for my purposes as-is!  I picked the round copper style, though they also had silver in round and both in square, and others that were attractive too.  I dont remember seeing brass coloured – but I’m not as attracted to brass.  The downside – because the pocketwatch dangles, the back might show, and it’s plain and boring.  I tried to think of putting a cog on the back (from that set at Michaels that comes in old brass, silver, and copper toned) but no such luck. Does anyone reading this have ideas?
  • Some copper chain
  • Some super-large copper-toned lobster clasps – I know this isn’t the period solution (since I have vintage and antique ones myself as reference) but I like the idea of it being somewhat more secure than a hook, but that it won’t damage the fabrics of my gowns like pins.  Plus, they look kind of industrial in feel, which is cool.
  • Some copper bead ends and beads. I didn’t use the beads.

I also had at home already

  • Copper metallic thread (from a different project – I think I got this from Fabricland, though it might have been from a sewing trade show… it was a while ago)
  • needle nose pliers and wire cutters
  • needle grabbers (kind of like forceps, because they lock, but they grab little round things like wires or needles better – you can get them at some specialty medical stores)
  • Rose/copper coloured beading wire (bought from Michael’s for another project)
  • Wire crimps – ideally I would have liked these in copper – which I’ve never seen – or black- which I’ve only seen once, and don’t own any of – but I have silver, and was able to GET AT silver (despite the continued basement bathroom renos)

To make this I

  1. First I opened up one of the links in the chain and slipped in the end of the lobster clasp. Nice thing about the sizes matching up, I didn’t need to use any separate jump rings (which I certainly don’t have in copper either).  This was more good luck than planning though!
  2. Then I measured out where I would want the ‘drape’ of the chain – the first clasp will go around a button, the next clasp will go where the pocket is.  I opened up a link and slipped this in as well.  (I did end up moving it over though later when the watch was complete.)
  3. I used the copper jump ring attached to the watch to attach it onto the end of the chain.  I would have loved to link the chain right into the watch, but the shape of the chain and the hole didn’t match up to hang correctly. I was thinking at this point of adding in some cogs to add decoration and cover the back of the watch  – but when I gave it a try, I really didn’t like the overall look of it, so I removed it.
  4. I wound the copper thread around a credit card (which was slightly larger than I wanted the tassel to be, so I could safely trim it) and then snipped the end.  My original thought was to pass the “tassel” through the ring on the watch, then slide the bead cap over all of the threads – however I underestimated the size of the hole in the bead cap – and that wasn’t going to work.. so instead I took two short pieces of the beading wire, divided the ‘tassel’ threads in half, and looped them, and then pulled the wires through instead of the threads.
  5. I slid a crimp over all four wires coming out of the top of the bead cap, then put them through one of the matching copper beads.
  6. Then I divided the wires again (because 8 wires was too much for one crimp) slid a crimp over each pair of wires, looped the wires around the jump ring on the watch, and then the wires went back down through the crimps and then the bead.  I used the needle grabber to hold on to one while doing the other so I wouldn’t loose my wires!  Then I used the needle grabber to pull the wires tight, and pinched down on the two crimps.
  7. Then of course I just clipped off the stray wire, and gave the tassel a fluff and a trim (over the garbage bag, of course!)

Tada!

The finished result!

The finished result!

Thoughts?

3 comments on “Steampunk – accessories – jewelery

  1. […] been thinking about pocketwatches as well as home decor separately, and of course the whole gears-and-cogs element of watches is […]

  2. […] – and certainly could have headed back to a different store where I bought the chain for my mini-pocketwatch – but there’s never time for that kind of thing – plus it’s on the other […]

  3. […] after doing my own mini-pocketwatch, I was out at Michael’s the other day, and saw that they’re now carrying a LOT more […]

Leave a Reply

