The lure of Etsy

Well I finally succumbed to the temptation offered by Etsy, and placed three orders.  One was somewhat planned (and I browsed a bit to find the best price on it), another started with something I have been thinking of for a while (and then I picked up a few other things while I was there) and another one I had to think about for a while.

I won’t post the details until I receive the goods – surprises and all of that… but the third item I was a bit conflicted about.  It’s a cute hair ornament/etc that I’ll likely wear with some veiling as a fascinator.  I originally saw it on one of the sellers who’s work I’ve admired for a while, but I thought the price was a bit high.  I did a fairly quick search (just on Etsy) and found the exact same item a few times by other sellers – each at least somewhat lower in price.

So, my conundrum – buy from the seller who’s work I’ve admired, (and thus would like to support so that she can continue making cool stuff) or spend less?  Today she had a 10% coupon for her Facebook followers, which is entirely the reason I decided to go to Etsy to shop today finally, but even with 10% off, her price was still almost twice that of another seller.

I had pretty much determined to go with the lower price – until the last minute – and then I changed my mind, and bought from the seller who’s work I’ve been following for a while.

It made me think of a recent article I read about “knocking off” designer clothing when making things at home, and my former teacher who endorsed the practice.

What are your thoughts?  Did I make the right choice?

4 comments on “The lure of Etsy

  1. if you fall in love with something always go with your feeling – am sure it looks beautiful so am sure you did the right thing.

  2. Dawn says:

    Hi Jemma,
    I sure hope they’ll be beautiful! I looked at my account and all of the items have been shipped – now to watch my mail box!

  3. […] *original Lure of Etsy post Published in: […]

  4. […] Lure of Etsy, pt 4 So 2 weeks ago I received the third purchase from my “lure of Etsy” mini-shopping spree, and I adore what I got!  I had every intention of posting sooner, but […]

Leave a Reply

