More steamy music

So rather than just posting more of the musical links into the comments of my previous post, I figured that I would do yet another post on inspiration/culture – though this time devoted entirely to music.

First off, another ‘popular’ (seeing as I know very few people in person who are really into the whole Steampunk sub-culture, I can only go by what I read on the ‘net) artist is Dr. Steel.  I figured that listening to a few of his tracks through YouTube (either his own videos or user-created/loaded tracks) would be a good introduction…

The verdict?  Well, I really like this song (erm.. parts of this video are more story-telling, and kind of interfere for me, but whatever!) however listening to a number of other songs, watching other videos – I can’t really say that I’m a fan.  Oh well.

Next up – Clockwork Quartet.  This is one that was a suggestion – though I can only guess it’s a random suggestion, vs. a personal one, because I didn’t care for it at all.  😦  I can see this music accompanying something musical-theatre-ish (The Doctor’s Wife sounds like something out of Repo! the Genetic Opera actually). But to listen to – naw.  Just not my style.

Up next in the list is the Unextraordinary Gentlemen.  There are a few videos from them on YouTube – though almost all of them are live recordings.  While I can see the appeal if you are a fan, hearing a band play live (on video), I find that when I’m actually trying to LISTEN to the music, it’s a huge disapointment.  Even bands I quite like, I have very little interest in fan videos from their live performances.  Perhaps I’m  a snob, but I think that cleaning things up in studio has some serious advantages.

So, with that, I found ONE fan-made “video” with audio from an album.  Take a listen – what do you think?  To me, it’s nice background music, but nothing memorable.  It’s not interesting enough for me to be all that interested in the lyrics, and other than the violin and some of the ambient noise, it’s not all that Steampunk or NeoVictorian either…  Of course, it would be a shame to  judge the entire group on one song… but until I see a bit more availale that isn’t noisy dirty live recordings, I’ll stick with this…

 

The Cog is Dead – The first song I listened to was “Death of the Cog” which, like the Clockwork Quartet seems to be more musical-theatre lacking the theatre, than music in and of itself.  Oddly enough I liked this better somewhat – but not something to actually sit down and listen to.

While the artist has only loaded up the one video, a fan has loaded up the songs with fan “videos” as well, so I took a listen to a few others, including:

Which yah, gotta say, I dont care for all that much either.  Just not my taste.

Vernian Process – ok… this is another ‘storytelling’ kind of track – though I’m getting it a bit more I think than some of the earlier ones.  Still… not my taste.  Sharing for the sake of sharing.  Perhaps I’ll be able to come back to this in time and appreciate it more?

I think with that, it’s time to sign off for a bit.  Perhaps the next time I come back to this theme, I’ll have more time to listen to this last artist, and also find some samples of Sunday Driver, The Men That Will Not be Blamed for Nothing, and others…

One comment on “More steamy music

  1. Josh says:

    I think you may enjoy some of our other material more. BtM is a really heavy track. You should check out The Maiden Flight (parts 1-4), I bet you might enjoy that much more.

    Josh ~ Founder/Singer of Vernian Process

Leave a Reply

