Rustic Luxury

Again, this will be a post that I’m writing long before it posts.  In this case, I’m writing this in early March, but won’t publish the post until after the event.  In this case, I’m attending a party where the guests have been asked to dress up, in a luxurious way, while the party itself is in a ‘cabin in the woods’.  (Actually it’s taking place in a chalet in Banff where I’ve been several times.)

In my last post about what I’m thinking of for this event, I mentioned the hooded green dress – which turns out to be from Episode III of Star Wars.  I did a bit more research on this dress, and decided that the dress itself isn’t really what I want to make, but rather I just really like the hood.  Just to record some of the information, I found a lot of information at the Padawan’s Guide, which has a lot of photos from screenshots, displays, and replicas that different costumers have made.

Hooded dress from Roxx

Looking through different things on the Internet (I love Google Images!) I found another ‘inspiration’ image for the fantastic hood idea.  This also has the historical feel to it that this event also seems to be evoking, but I think it’s a little over-the-top from what I really want to do.  I love the hood, I like the bodice (sort of, it looks as though it doesn’t quite fit the mannequin)… but the over-dress and the sleeves are a bit too much for what I am thinking of for this costume/dress.

This example is from Roxx btw, and there are a number of these dresses shown in different fabrications.

From the Blacklist Blog

Here’s a fantastically-shot Giorgio Armani dress from the Blacklist blog – I don’t care that this is from 2007 – it’s still incredibly hot.  (Though I’d never wear the balloon hemline, it looks terrible on me!) How beautiful is this photo, btw?

So, I know that I want to do a hooded dress. I really want to use that olive-green spandex velvet that I mentioned in my earlier post.  But where from there?  I love the idea of a cowl neck dress as well, especially in velvet.  I’ve been wearing a lot of cowl necked shirts lately, and find them flattering….

Ralph Lauren dress

So, cowl necks… Here’s a shot of a dress from Ralph Lauren dress from Harper’s Bazaar.  (It’s #9 in their list of top trends, and how to wear them, although the photo was chosen for it’s “wear bright at night” element.) I love the luxury of this, and how the draping really highlights the pile of the velvet; it just makes me want to touch it.

Next Door Style

So, how about blending the two ideas?  What about a hooded cowl neck velvet dress?  Here’s an artistic version from Next Door Style.  I don’t love the super wide short sleeves, and I’m not sure why the hood is seemed across the way it is, but it looks like a successful interpretation.  The neckline looks like a draped collar (like a turtleneck, just really low) vs. an actual cowl, (it would be hard to cut that with such a tight dress too I imagine), but still the overall look is pretty successful.
Craftster.org also has a cool version, with a tutorial. I don’t love how tight the hood is, but again, this is sort of the extra long and wide turtleneck turned into a hood.

Haiiku backless dress

Here’s a  version from Haiiku, however this one is backless, which I totally wouldn’t want to do, but again it has a hood and a cowl front, which I think looks pretty sexy! Ok, I’m sure 80% of that is the hot model, the photography, and the makeup/styling, but still, it’s another successful interpretation.  I’d like to see the full length dress though – I find it weird that they haven’t photographed that for the website.  Actually – all of the photos on the website are beautiful, but don’t really show enough of the garment for shopping purposes.

BCBG

While I’m looking at velvet dresses with interesting necklines, check out this one from BCBG – which I found on a Prom Dress website.  I like the micro pleats at the neckline (bust fullness perhaps? I don’t see any side darts/shaping.) and what looks like a wide tube of fabric making up the neckline above that.  I don’t particularly care for the elongated petal-esque sleeves, and I find the waist seam a bit awkward.  I’d rather see this straight, or shaped at the side and back seams instead.  Totally unrelated to the design – I adore this colour – dark blue with just the slightest hint of grey or perhaps green.  Delightful!

Tampa Bay fashion blog green dress

Another great dress – or at least one with a great neckline – here’s an example from a Tampa Bay fashion blog.  This one has a pleated/gathered neckline, all flowing down into the dress itself. I don’t like the way it’s styled (with what seems to be an elastic belt) but I think it’s a great cut – all of that pleating and draping again really highlights the beauty of the velvet.  The yellow seems to be either bleaching or dying to add dimension to the pleats – though you can really only see this if you click through to the full size version.

So, I think that my goal will be to make a long, cowl-necked dress in green velvet with a deep hood.  The thoughts I still need to think about are: if and how the hood will be lined, if the dress will have sleeves, and if so, what kind?

Hmmm seeing as I have a WEEK to pull this together, I had better start deciding soon! (Not to mention drafting, making a muslin, and sewing up the final version – that is if I can find the room in the crazy mess that is my basement still…

One comment on “Rustic Luxury

  1. […] I started off with the idea of a green velvet hooded cowl dress, (from my Rustic Luxury post) and I just wanted to post the finished version. Original sketch of the "Rustic Luxury/Winter […]

Leave a Reply

