Fabric sale

Last year I found out about this wonderful fabric sale, and this year we found it again. It’s held at a church, and if it wasn’t for reading my grandmother’s church newsletter we never would have found it again.  The sale was on April 9, but it’s taken a while to write the post.

April 9 fabric finds (close up)

Basically it’s a de-stash fabric sale.  You bring in your unwanted fabrics along with craft items, yarn, quilting supplies, etc and donate them – or just go and shop.  We did both this year.  All of the proceeds go to the Stephen Lewis Foundation’s Grandmothers to Grandmothers campaign.  This is the campaign that supports grandmothers who are raising their orphaned grandchildren – after loosing their own children to AIDS/HIV.  Talk about a feel-good shopping experience!  Oh… and the prices are awesome!

Most of the fabrics are just pieces – whatever someone bought for their project, and then couldn’t use.  However some people have donated entire bolts or rolls of fabric, so you can also buy those ones by the meter (though the cost is a bit higher doing it that way, but still very reasonable).  They hold the sale in a church basement, and there are rooms devoted to:

  • Yarn (and crochet cotton, etc)
  • Notions & trim (buttons, zippers, lace, cord, etc)
  • Craft supplies (various)
  • Books
  • Home Decorating/bolts & rolls
  • Quilting/Quilt fabrics
  • Books & magazines
  • Specialty fabrics (fancies, fun-fur, etc)
  • and then there are areas in the main area divided up into knits, wools, suiting, flannelette, and then just regular dress fabrics.

They also had a few sewing machines there this time too – probably last time as well but I don’t remember.

April 9 fabric finds

So, what did I get?

  • Plush solid grey fun fur
  • Variegated, somewhat striped grey and white fun fur (longer pile)
  • Pink micro pleat
  • Gold micro pleat (I had some of this before, and made a top out of it.  I also had some in silver (another top) and some in black (a dress)
  • Rust stretch velvet
  • Silk / silk-like red and gold striped fabric (I need to test it to see the content)
  • 2 pieces of copper taffeta, very much like the bronze taffeta I took to decorate the last two theme / costume parties
  • Black on black floral brocade
  • Grey wool coating
  • Navy blue wool coating
  • Copper/golden shantung silk
  • Copper/Red/Gold micro stripe
  • Large card of very narrow black lace
  • Small card of very narrow gold braid
  • Lots of open wide black braid
  • Pale pink/champagne coloured stretch lace
  • Ivory cotton lace
  • Purple and gold “Indian” braid/trim

I ended up getting a number of “warm” coloured fabrics, and even mum commented that it’s not my normal colour scheme.  Most of it I was thinking of for costumes though, which would explain why my mind was more on the steampunk-influenced colours rather than my normal more goth colour scheme.  I was also thinking of the Sultan’s Tent costume party – and I’m sure that influenced the way I was drawn to certain colours more so than others.

Now just to find the time to sew!

3 comments on “Fabric sale

  1. […] Fabric sale « Dawn's Dress Diary I also had some in silver (another top) and some in black (a dress); Rust stretch velvet; Silk / silk-like red and gold striped fabric (I need to test it to see the content); 2 pieces of copper taffeta, very much like the bronze taffeta I took to decorate the last . Large card of very narrow black lace; Small card of very narrow gold braid; Lots of open wide black braid; Pale pink/champagne coloured stretch lace; Ivory cotton lace; Purple and gold “Indian” braid/trim […]

  2. […] still need something to hold my ID, keys, etc.   I picked up some grey fun fur at the recent church fabric sale, and although I’m not sure if I want to go with the smaller striped piece or the larger solid […]

  3. […] Read my 2011 post about the sale, where I picked up lots of red and gold fabrics, plus velvets and fun furs, plus a few amazing trims…. […]

Leave a Reply

