Steampunk Picnic coming up

Steampunk Picnic by Anna Fischer

Next Saturday is the Steampunk Picnic, and as I’ve never been out to one before, I’m really hoping for good weather and good timing so that I can make it!

To my friends – please come with me! To those of you I haven’t met yet, please say hello and help an enthusiastic newcomer feel welcome!

Here are the details from the Facebook event:

Time: Saturday, June 11 · 12:00pm – 6:00pm

Location:Prince’s Island Park, Calgary, Alberta

Details: Those who have attended our picnic’s know it’s a fun day of lounging in the sun, eating food and ice cream with some old fashioned games thrown in for good measure. We will be in our usual spot in the park, directly across the bridge behind Eau Claire Market. If you go out behind Eau Claire, past the water park and head towards the river you will see the bridge to Prince’s Island Park. Cross the bridge and we will be on the grassy space to your left. Bring picnic food for yourself, everyone provides there own meal. We always advise lots of sunscreen and a cooler costume. If you have a fun outside game that others can play, feel free to bring it!

So… what to wear?

If it’s a miserable day, then apparently the group will be meeting inside instead, though that likely won’t be nearly as much fun! Apparently in picnics past, the weather has been quite warm, so I think I’ll keep corsets out of contention this time around. I’m thinking my new green silk skirt, the purchased top that matches, my cream lace blouse over top, and my cream lace parasol to finish it all off. I’m thinking more ‘picnic’ and less ‘Victorian’ this time around, and there’s no way I’ll find the time to make anything! Perhaps some of the cream lace hanging out on my dressform right now could quickly come together as a spur-of-the-moment bustle though… hmmm.

I’ll also need a picnic blanket (I’m sure I can scrounge one up…) a basket for my lunch (and some lunch to put in it… cucumber sandwiches and iced tea perhaps?).

I found some cool images on Live Journal – check out Mlle Violet’s photos from a Steampunk Picnic in New York.

So, who will also be attending?

Leave a Reply

