Quilter’s Dream in Edmonton

While up in Edmonton I popped into a quilting shop called Quilter’s Dream.  I had just come from Earthly Goods, which was a wonderful shop, so I had high expectations.  However those expectations were tempered with some negative comments about less-than-attentive service that I had read online.

Faces swirled for privacy

My experience – wasn’t bad by any means, but wasn’t exceptional either.  The staff paid more attention to my mother by far than me (even when she told them that I was the shopper and she was just hanging out); in fact I don’t know if my presence was ever acknowledged until I went and asked someone about something. With that being said, I also don’t like to be crowded when I’m just looking around.

Well-stocked shelves

There were a lot of really nice quilts on the walls, and the shelves were well stocked and well organized. However, overall I felt uninspired.  Perhaps it was the way that things were arranged, but there didn’t seem to be a lot that really jumped out to me.  I did think about picking up a jelly roll (strips of fabric in coordinating prints and colours), but I have seen them cheaper elsewhere, so I didn’t.

Newspaper print fabric

The one fabric I did really like was the above newspaper kind of print – mostly because it reminded me of the fabric used in the Lip Service steampunk skirt I saw earlier that day.  However, I’d seen it at a shop in Calgary as well (and I think at a lower price point) so I didn’t bother picking that up either.

Quilter's Dream

I visited Quilter’s Dream’s south location – they have two locations in Edmonton.  Have you visited their shop?  Share your impressions in the comments below!

Quilter’s Dream
4359 99 ST NW
Edmonton AB T6E 5E4

Phone: (780) 496-9375
Tollfree: 1-877-373-9464

 

p.s. sorry for the iPhone photos!

Leave a Reply

