Book Review: Layer Cake, Jelly Roll, and Charm Quilts

Image from Chapters.ca - click for the original source.

Layer Cake, Jelly Roll, and Charm Quilts is one of several books I looked at from Pam and Nicky Lintott while looking for ideas for Jelly Roll Quilts (one of the newest projects on my mind…)

Most of the books I picked up were really centred on Jelly Rolls, but this one includes the other pre-cut styles as well, and I think because of this it was less interesting to me.  The book was just light on the Jelly Roll specific projects, and I found that while there are a few nice ideas, their colourways really didn’t appeal to me – the overall look of most of the quilts was too ‘scrappy’ for me, and too bright.  I guess it’s my ‘boring’ eye, but I’m still loving the more subdued projects, and this book was light on those.  Of course, you can make up the patterns themselves in whatever you like – but I find it hard to be inspired when I don’t like the sample.

Hopefully I’ll get around to blogging about some of the other books from them soon, which I found much more interesting!

One comment on “Book Review: Layer Cake, Jelly Roll, and Charm Quilts

  1. […] take one Jelly Roll, and make two quilts with it (with additional fabric of course).  Like the previous book I didn’t always care for their colour choices – I prefer more subdued colours rather […]

Leave a Reply

