Cut! – Miss Potter – Beatrix Potter

Beatrix Potter's costume

Well the Cut! exhibit certainly gave me a lot of blog-fodder, so here’s another costume – this time from Miss Potter, a movie (that I frankly never heard of – which isn’t a terrible thing, since I’m not a big movie fan anyways…) about Beatrix Potter.

Poster for the costume - click for full version

The costume description poster (click for a larger view) describes the movie as:

“Miss Potter (2006)

The story of Beatrix Potter, author of the best-selling children’s book ‘ The tale of Peter Rabbit’, and her struggle for love, happiness and success.

Set in London, 1870’s

The day ensemble consists of a ruched beige silk bustled skirt with lace trim and a high-necked jacket with ore ruching and lace trim as well as a crocheted-covered buttons.”

Beatrix Potter's costume

I suppose either I’m not in an inspired mood at the moment, or the costume didn’t strike me as particularly inspiring, because I don’t really have much to say about this one…  I don’t think that the ruching is all that attractive (although on tiny little Renee Zellweger perhaps it would be ok!) so it’s not an element I’d want to repeat.  The colour is bland and boring, the poofs and lace seem dowdy with the cut of the outfit overall, the only thing that I find even mildly interesting is the shape of the skirt – though it looks a bit off where the front part meets the back at the side seam…

Beatrix Potter's costume

Well, the buttons are kind of nice I suppose, and I do like the way the front fullness is gathered with the lines of ruching – though again, not something I would want to reproduce to the extent done here.

Beatrix Potter's costume

Pst… what is that last button doing down there – there isn’t even a buttonhole…

Beatrix Potter's costume

Why is the back fabric all pleated at the shoulders?  The ruching here isn’t just controlling the fabric, they’ve actually added in additional fabric.  Not really attractive to me…

Beatrix Potter's costume

Ruching! Puffs! Lace!

Beatrix Potter's costume

Again, a bit overdone for me… too much fabric without enough of an impact.

Ok.. so if you see something I don’t in this costume, let me know in the comments below.  Maybe there’s a context that since I haven’t seen the movie I’m not aware of? Perhaps I’m just in an uninspired mood!

12 comments on “Cut! – Miss Potter – Beatrix Potter

  1. Sergio says:

    Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Thank you

    • Dawn says:

      Hey there Sergio, Feel free to share the link with your group. I’m afraid that I’m not on MySpace, so I won’t join you there, nor my content.

  2. Muhammad Bright says:

    Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the fantastic work!

  3. Latoya Hendon says:

    Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He continually kept preaching about this. I’ll forward this post to him.
    Pretty sure he’s going to have a good read. I appreciate
    you for sharing!

  4. Denice says:

    Aw, this was an incredibly good post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort
    to produce a really good article… but what can I say… I put
    things off a whole lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

  5. Fran Sills says:

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in
    fact was a amusement account it. However, how can we communicate?

  6. Hannah says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this
    post was great.

    • Dawn says:

      Sometimes it’s easy to get caught in a blog-roll or Googlesearch spiral… and hours later you remember what you were actually looking for!

Leave a Reply

