Video of a hat being made

While I’m on a millinery kick (or rather, before something else new and exciting takes me away from my multiple works-in-progress) I thought I’d share a cool video that I found on the Victoria & Albert Museum website.  This video goes through many of (but not all) the steps in creating a hand-made hat (in this case for Stephen Jones Millinery).  You can see just from this how insanely time-consuming it is!  I do wonder about the black material used at the very beginning of the video – pinned to the block and then shrunk with steam to fit the curves of the brim block.  If you know what this material is, please let me know in the comments below!

Of course, because it’s a Vimeo video… I can’t embed it here for you to see – but click this link for Millinery in action and go check it out!

As an aside, there is also a brief interview with Stephen Jones on this page, about the possibility of hats coming back into popular fashion.  What I find kind of amusing (and sad in a way) is how the designer himself, does not wear a hat, and there are only two hats worn by any of the interviewees – one a baseball cap, and another a fedora, worn by another milliner.  There is also a sparkly tiara-thing as well worn by a woman near the end of the video, but other than that, a video about the comeback of hats.. is almost entirely devoid of any interesting headwear at all!

4 comments on “Video of a hat being made

    • Dawn says:

      Possibly.. I’ve just finished working with sinamay, and what I have had has been a LOT less dense than what is shown in the video… and we needed to wet it, not just steam it to shape it… and it didn’t shrink at all. Perhaps what they are using is a far finer version?

  1. Queen Settles says:

    The material used is black buckram(sp). I was in a millinery class during the early 60’s and the instructor introduced us to the different types of materials used for blocking such as: Flexible buckram, doubled buckram, regular single ply buckram, rice net, and crinoline(sp) all came in black and white. In northern California, we purchased our millinery supplies from a company I. O’Fells Inc., located in San Francisco, California. The company closed during the 80’s.

    • Dawn says:

      Thanks Queen! I’ve never seen black buckram where I am – but then again, none of the shops locally even seem to know what buckram is (they usually point me towards fusible interfacing….) but I am pretty sure I’ve seen it available for mail-order.

Leave a Reply

