Millinery: Indented facinator

In the Advanced millinery workshop, one of the hats that I started on (but didn’t finish in class) was the Indented facinator.

Indented mini facinator with sinamay waiting to dry

From my previous post about this hat:

The next facinator is a cute little shape with an indent at the top (there is no tipper for this, so a fellow student made one with upholstery cord – when she was done with it, I used it too!). In class all I got done was blocking and then drying the hat – the sinamay took extra long to dry because the block and the tipper were both wrapped in plastic – so the sizing didn’t really have anywhere to go! This was only one layer of sinamay. Another student used it after me, and I think that the instructor took it home – because it still hadn’t dried. They seemed friendly so it’s likely that the instructor will get it back to her once it is dry.

Indented sinamay facinator, trimmed and wired

After this dried, class was all over, so I didn’t work on it any more until I got home. First I trimmed off the excess sinamay, wired the edge, and then bound it with navy blue purchased double fold bias binding. From there I wrapped the base of the sinamay flower-thing I had made puttering around in class, and attached it to the hat itself. This sounds really simple, but this step alone probably took an hour and a half or more… One tip – use single thread when hand sewing sinamay – it catches all the time, and double-thread is a huge pain in the ass (I didn’t have beeswax or anything for my thread to lessen this problem on me at hand when I was working on it).

Binding the sinamay

From there I attached some bridal button elastic (I’m never entirely sure what to call this stuff – but it is basically trim with a braid, and several loops of elastic.  It is used when you have several buttons in a row (like down the back of a bridal gown) to easily create all the loops for all of those tiny buttons) which will hold the comb to be able to wear the facinator.

Sinamay rolled flower and rolled triangle (scrap) for decoration

I also got three white feathers from my feather stash (doesn’t everyone have a feather stash?) and hot-glued them in, and then found a single vintage silver-tone button from my button box and glued that too.  After all of the hand-work (instead of gluing) that I did on the majority of the hat, it felt very strange to use glue… but really, I’m not going to be able to stitch in feathers… and to get the button to sit correctly on the hat – stitching wouldn’t have been nearly as effective as hot glue.  Overall – I like it, but I almost wonder if the feathers were a bit of overkill.  Although I LOVE to look at highly-embellished things, my own personal style tends to be a bit more subdued (yes, even for someone who owns multiple pairs of feathered false eyelashes..) so it might take a while for me to love the feathers in this as well.

The finished indented facinator

What do you think? Let me know in the comments below!

4 comments on “Millinery: Indented facinator

  1. lorib240 says:

    My nana made military hats during WW2 they were felted beautiful hats. Very nice to see your post about them. She always added a sparkle type broch. I have one that she made put away.

  2. Priscilla Chikwana says:

    magnificent hat. Can you make a satin ribbon hat

Leave a Reply

