Inspiration at Creative Stitches

Poppies

As I mentioned in a previous post, I attended this year’s Creative Stitches & Crafting Alive! trade show – and I’ve already discussed some other elements of the show, but there were a few other photos I didn’t have a chance to share, that I thought I’d toss up for inspirations sake.

Three-dimensional poppy wall-hanging from Veronica’s Sewing Supplies which I really liked – though I didn’t end up getting the pattern or the kit.  I had already picked up a few other things, and I was trying to show some restraint with ‘new projects’. (Since I already have so many on the go…)

Elk

I think that this pretty Elk pattern was from The Sugar Pine Company (located in Canmore) although I could be wrong…

Elk

This one is called Monarch of the Valley, and it is of an elk – they also had a bear, a buffalo, and another elk as well.  (Click here for a shop selling this pattern – no recommendation intended – just one I found online since the Sugar Pine Co. didn’t seem to have it on theirs.)  I liked this mostly because of the black outlines around the element – I am guessing that several of the pattern pieces is cut out of black and then the fabric – with then the fabric cut slightly narrower – so that when layered on top of the black, an outline of black shows around each of those selected elements.

In Carola’s class on texture, she also brought out starfish, and the example below. Time was running short when we were in the workshop, so I didn’t get the chance to see it up close, but instead saw it in her booth later on.
The starfish were each sewn, slashed and stuffed, the quilting was done on “ugly” (her words) hand-dyed fabric resembling mucky water along the shoreline, and turned-and-stuffed pebbles as well.
The seaweed in this piece was made the same way she made the moss in the texture example art quilt that we spent the most time on in the workshop itself.  (By stitching with quilt-weight thread on several layers of wash-away stabilizer in a repeated pattern to build up the thread before washing out the stabilizer and then attaching the ‘seaweed’.

Starfish

.

Steampunk hat

In the scrapbook area, there was a shop booth that had this awesome steampunk mannequin – made almost entirely from paper-crafting supplies! The outfit included a corset and bustle skirt, but what I really liked was the hat!

Steampunk hat

Decorated with gears, flowers, and goggle,s what I really loved about the hat was the huge scrapbook chipboard ‘clock’.

cogs

I found cogs similar to the chipboard clock…

clock faces

… and then also found the clock too.  Such a cool idea I’d love to try to replicate it – but… eh. I didn’t bother picking this up, again trying to show some restraint in the new-project-file.  I have so many projects on the go – including hats… that I didn’t want to add this – especially since the chipwood would restrict the wearing of the hat – being paper and all.  Plus, I think I know where I can get the chipboard clock faces (or the cogs if I wanted to go that way instead…) if I decide to attempt to do something similar in the future.

So.. that’s pretty much it in terms of the inspiration from the Creative Stitches show – and the last post I’ll have for the show (at least for this year!)

So… feeling inspired means I should have some completed projects to post at some time.. right?

2 comments on “Inspiration at Creative Stitches

  1. Sartenada says:

    I love especially the elk quilt! It is lovely. In Finland, now You know it, we visit every time when there is a quilt show because my wife was a quilter. Nowadays is beading

    Here are some of my posts:

    Finnish quilts.

    Thank You commenting so many my posts.

    Have a great day!

    • Dawn says:

      Thanks!
      Beading can take up a lot less space than quilting -though I imagine your wife didn’t give it up! I have only completed a few quilts – I have a few more on the go, and fabric for many, many, many more…
      When I was in Finland, I only visited one fabric store (successfully, I attempted to visit another) – Eurokangas in Helsinki https://dawnsdressdiary.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/helsinki-fabric-shopping/ and didn’t see much in the way of quilting fabrics… I thought at first that perhaps quilting wasn’t especially popular in Finland – though now, seeing your quilt show post, I know that can’t be true! The location in Helsinki downtown must have just been focused more on fashion fabrics, and other shops must specialize in quilting fabrics instead – I just missed them!

Leave a Reply

