Kumihimo #3

Kumihimo project #3

After looking at the pattern for the inspiration black and red piece (as mentioned in my previous Kumihimo post), I wanted to do a black and red one too – I love black and red together, and it reminds me of the logo colours (and song lyrics) for one of my favorite Finnish metal bands, Turisas.

Disc set up with a 12-strand set; 8 strands of red and 4 of black.

Disc set up with a 12-strand set; 8 strands of red and 4 of black.

The disc set up is a 12-strand (different than the 8-strand I did for the beaded bracelets) with 8 strands of red and 4 of black. The resulting braided cord is a red cord with a winding black thread. I love it! I’ve ordered a silver Mjölnir from a seller on Etsy which I’ll use with this cord. I’ll have to wait until I can get the pendant before finishing the cord – just in case the hole is only sufficient to accommodate the cord, and not also the end caps. I want to go with a Viking-esque feel because the resulting cord reminds me a bit of Viking knit (which I also want to learn!) and I think the whole effect will be great – plus a substantial pendant deserves a substantial and interesting cord!  I might do the reverse (a black cord with a winding red thread) for another, similar project.

The finished black and red cord.

The finished black and red cord.

I picked up some beautiful horse-head end caps at Beads & Plenty more (the same place I got the disc and cord) for $.75 each which echo the feeling of a lot of Viking jewellery (torcs) and I think will work great. Hopefully I’ll have a finished project to share soon!

3 comments on “Kumihimo #3

  1. […] so I’d be less upset if it did lose it’s colour through the draw plate. Like my Kumihimo project in black and red inspired by one of my favourite Finnish metal bands Turisas, once the red chain […]

  2. […] instead, but I loved these glue-in end caps instead, which I originally purchased for one of my Kumihimo projects, and loved! (So I bought the last four more at the shop – and am looking for […]

  3. […] project has been sitting in my to-finish pile for a while. The start of this project is here: Kumihimo Project #3 but I finally put the horse-head terminals on the end of the cord to finish it off. I’d held […]

Leave a Reply

