Super bling overload

I am not normally a super bling-y person… but in the past while I’ve been all over super-bling-y, rhinestone-encrusted, crystal-covered necklaces. (I’ve also been looking for an awesome clear crystal statement ring, with no luck. Size 9 if you’re curious… tee hee)

While in Toronto, I picked up these enormous, super-bling’d out beads. They’re HUGE (well, there are three sizes, and the largest is huge) and totally covered in rhinestones. You can barely make out any of the metal for all of the shine on these babies…

Of course, rather than just looping one on a discreet silver chain and calling it a day, I had to use them all. All together. At once. SUPER BLING OVERLOAD!

I actually toyed with these for a while, trying to figure out what to do with them. Did I want something long and dangly, with lots of mellow black cut glass beads between them? Did I want to go really high-contrast and toss them on some thick black leather cord, with chunky knots to divide them and hold them in place? Did I want a shorter necklace that was just non-stop bling?

Super bling overload - shown on my dressform

Super bling overload – shown on my dressform

… well, simple practicality won out I’m afraid. Since there are so many rhinestones on these things, and each is held on with a claw settings (rather than glued in stones), I found that they were susceptible to catching certain fabrics – and I certainly don’t want to snag my top just because of a super-blinged out necklace, so practicality dictated that this be a shorter necklace which will fall within the neckline of most garments – rather than a longer necklace which might be worn over clothing.

Rhinestone-heart accented tggle clasp on the Super Bling Overload necklace

Rhinestone-heart accented tggle clasp on the Super Bling Overload necklace

The necklace is strung on silver leather cord from Suzie Q beads, and is finished with crimps and split rings from my crafty stash, along with a toggle from Michael’s, and a rhinestone heart charm from Hi Beads in Toronto.

Super Bling Overload necklace shown laying flat on the table.  You can see the silver leather cord it's strung on.

Super Bling Overload necklace shown laying flat on the table. You can see the silver leather cord it’s strung on.

Between each of the blingy beads is a red roundel, which I also got at Hi Beads. At the very end of each side is a crystal bead from Michaels – I wanted something a bit smoother for the top, rather than using a red bead or a roundel.

Super Bling Overload close up showing the ride roundels between each bead.

Super Bling Overload close up showing the ride roundels between each bead.

I love the close-up of these beads!

So.. now styling tips! Who has them? What do you suggest wearing with something this bling-tastic?

Leave a Reply

