Seascape Bling

You might have noticed I’ve done a lot of bling-y projects in the last while. Part of this is my inner magpie shouting out for shiny things, and part of it is just out of availability.  Having a nice stash of bright, sparkly beads, means it’s easier to put things together in that theme.. though I have yet to WEAR all of the new pieces I’ve added to my collection!

This necklace was put together partially out of leftovers from other projects…

Blue and green large-hole bead necklace.

Blue and green large-hole bead necklace.

The blue and green glass large-hole beads are actually from Wal-Mart.  I picked up two cards of these beads in order to do the mirrored effect on both sides, gradating from dark, dark blue (practically black) to light green.  The super-dark beads at the centre are from Hi Beads in Toronto.

The black roundels are from Hi Beads as well, while the clear crystal beads are from Michaels along with the extra-large crystal roundel at the centre.  The green/blue AB rhinestone toggle clasp is also from Michaels, from a new ‘seaside’-themed collection I just started seeing in mid-April.

The teal leather cord is from Suzie Q Beads, while the crimps and split rings are from my crafting stash.

Toggle closure on the blue and green large-hole bead necklace.

Toggle closure on the blue and green large-hole bead necklace.

I’m not normally fond of AB stones (Aurora Borealis, which means that they kind of change colour) but I don’t mind them at all in the blue/green shade which I don’t often see. The only complaint I have about this clasp, is that on the toggle part, they’ve put the rhinestones on the wrong side…  They are on the side opposite the ring, which makes sence when the toggle is flat, or on the card – but when worn… it means the sold silver-tone part of the toggle is displayed, not the pretty rhinestone side.

Blue and green large-hole bead necklace close up.

Blue and green large-hole bead necklace close up.

Close up of that extra-large roundel.  I bought several, but once I got home, they didn’t seem to work with anything.  I put one here, and used others on other projects where they do work – but not how I anticipated them working.

Blue and green large-hole bead necklace.

Blue and green large-hole bead necklace.

The complete necklace, shown on my dressform.

Leave a Reply

