Bat necklace

I picked up a pair of brass stamping bats from an Etsy seller (Glamour Girl Beads)  a while back, and after relative success with another project (More silver feathers… coming soon!) I figured I would give this one a try too. The result is super-simple, and just a little bit gothic…

Bat necklace

Bat necklace

To start off, I had to punch holes in the brass. To do this I got out a THICK scrap of leather (leather belt leftovers) and just to be extra-safe and protect my work surface, a scrap of softoleum – a soft material for carving that I used back in design school.
Next, I got out a small finishing nail and a hammer from my tool kit, and set up using the nail to punch a hole on either side of the bat’s wingspan. (Through the front – so any excess material from the hole would be pushed to the back of the bat.
The hammering did ‘bend’ the bat just slightly, so when the hole was in place, I sandwhiched the bat between the leather and the softoleum and gave it a few more taps to straighten it back out again.
I’m sure that there are punches and other tools I could have bought and used instead…. but frankly, this worked, and it’s not like I’m going to take up metal work as yet another hobby!

Bat necklace

Bat necklace

After the holes were punched it was a pretty simple matter of adding in two jump rings (I did try my prefered split rings, but they didn’t work properly).
Then I wanted to ‘smooth’ out the back a little – and since I had my tube of glue-anywhere glue out for another project, I put a TINY drop of glue on the back of the bat where the holes were. This secures the jump ring in place for sure, but more importantly creates a barrier so the small points of metal on the back of the hole area won’t ever get caught on clothing I might wear with the necklace.

Bat necklace

Bat necklace

Once the glue was dry, I measured out a length of chain. I would have loved to use chain and jump rings the same patina as the bat, but silver will have to do – since I don’t keep a stock of a variety of finding colours (well I do, just not THIS colour!)
Since I wanted the bat to hang fairly low, I didn’t bother putting a clasp on the chain – it can be just put on over my head.

Bat necklace

Bat necklace

I think he’s super cute! What do you think? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

