Extra-Large bead necklace

This project started out with a bit of a hitch, but I love the result.
I picked up the extra-large roundels at Michaels, but when I got them home, they didn’t work the way I had hoped they would, and I set them aside.
Then I was at Beads & Plenty More looking for something else, and saw these gorgeous extra-large crystal beads. I guessed that the size would work (and it did!) with the roundels, so picked up three (they were $1.99 each) along with some floral end caps (at $.25 each) and brought them home.

Wonderful extra-large beads

Wonderful extra-large beads

Part of keeping this necklace ‘working’ – is keeping the beads all together, which meant that once I strung them on the silver leather cord (from Suzie Q Beads) I needed to fix them in place. I used large crimps on either side of the floral caps, and then shiny crimp covers over the crimps themselves. I just started working with crimp covers, and although I don’t think they’re needed everywhere, they definitely create a nice look on some pieces.

Wonderful extra-large beads

Wonderful extra-large beads

The end result is a fairly long, simple necklace. Just a little bling with the rhinestones and the shiny faceted crystal beads, but not over the top like some of the mega-blingy necklaces I’ve posted about recently.

Wonderful extra-large beads

Wonderful extra-large beads

The bead colours vary with the light – picking up grey, blue, and green. From this shot (above) you can see that the crystals are clear – you can see the cord through them – but this isn’t obvious most of the time.

Wonderful extra-large beads

Wonderful extra-large beads

This is the same toggle clasp that I used on the “Seascape Bling” necklace a while back. I don’t normally love AB crystals, but in the blue/green shade I don’t mind them at all. This toggle was from a ‘seaside’-themed Bead Landing collection at Michaels that I first saw in mid-April. Finishing just involved more crimps, and a set of split rings from my stash.

Wonderful extra-large beads

Wonderful extra-large beads

The above photo gives a slightly better view of the floral ends, along with the crimp cover which hides the crimp which holds the beads in place along the leather cord.

Wonderful extra-large beads

Wonderful extra-large beads

Such a lovely reflective light quality!

I love these projects that start out so rough, and end up so nice.

Leave a Reply

