Purple Sparkle

I wasn’t really sure what to “call” this necklace.. and I suspect the result sounds a little like a My Little Pony… but either way, it’s purple, and it’s sparkly.  Done.

It’s not super bling-y like some of my previous projects though, which is a nice change, and it’s also significantly longer. I actually wonder if the proportion of it is a little off. It is the result mostly of some left over beads from another project (which I’ll post about soon).  I love some beads, but I hate when they’re packaged in along with other beads I like a lot less. It either means you use the beads in the combination they’re packaged in (boring!) or have a bunch of less interesting beads leftover to figure out something to do with. That’s where this one came in!

Purple beaded necklace

Purple beaded necklace

The beads include those from Michael’s crafts, and Beads & Plenty More with the connectors from an old (no longer available) Michael’s collection and the clasp from Michael’s too.

Purple beaded necklace

Purple beaded necklace

The clasp is a toggle clasp with pale pink/purple rhinestones.  This was part of a ‘seaside’ themed collection I found in mid-April.  I used the same clasp on another project, and the blue version of this clasp on two others. (The package came in a pack of two – one blue, one pink.)  I’ve used split rings and crimps to attach the clasp to the necklace.

Purple beaded necklace

Purple beaded necklace

The centre beads on this piece, are these three rhinestone spacers in dark and light purple.  These were one-ofs in a larger package of beads, and since I only had one of the darker one, I didn’t want to include it in the other purple necklace. (Which I’ll post about soon.)

Purple beaded necklace

Purple beaded necklace

I really liked these square beads, so was really looking for a chance to use them.  The large rhinestone spacers were from another package of beads, and didn’t really work with some of the  round beads, because they’re not cupped. They worked perfectly with these square beads instead though. Also shown here are the large-hole purple roundels and the pink glass beads.

Purple beaded necklace

Purple beaded necklace

Connecting the ‘feature’ beads to the more simple faceted glass beads are these really cute, vaguely Victorian-feeling connectors.  I love these, but haven’t used them too much – I actually still have about four left waiting for a project that they’ll work on.  The only thing I don’t like about these, is that they’re only one-sided, so when the necklace turns around, they’re not nearly as interesting.  They are connected to the necklace with split rings.

Purple beaded necklace

Purple beaded necklace

I chose to select a  beautiful ‘plain’ bead for the remainder of the necklace.  This is two strands of “Chinese Crystal” beads from Beads & Plenty more in a purple tone with just a touch of pink.

Purple beaded necklace

Purple beaded necklace

The necklace on my dress form.

Leave a Reply

