Box chain bracelet

In my previous post I mentioned some chain that I used for the casual bling necklace. Of course, since I bought it in a package rather than by the metre, I had some leftover, and wasn’t sure what to do with it at first. It was just a little bit too short to become a necklace for me (it would have been a choker, and I don’t love those usually). It was also too long to be a bracelet or anything else. I tried it on another piece I’ve been working on, but it just didn’t suit it either.

Box chain bracelet

Box chain bracelet

Then I tied it in a knot… and I loved the knot! It was simple, but had so much sparkle and such a neat, beaded effect. I decided to use it for a bracelet after all, using the knot to shorten the length.

  1. First off I added crimps to the ends of the chain. As I mentioned in a previous post, the technique of using wire and a bead cap is also a possibility, but I didn’t like the end result.
  2. Then I looped one end of a magnetic closure onto a split ring, and strung the closure onto the chain – as if it was a bead to hang in the middle.
  3. Then I strung the two crimps onto a second, smaller split ring, and added the second side of the closure. Then I tied the whole thing in a knot, centering the knot between the two clasps.
Box chain bracelet

Box chain bracelet

The result is delicate and pretty!
I’m really enjoying magnetic closures for bracelets – they are so much easier to put on and take off than toggle, lobster or box clasps, when I’m trying to work one-handed. What other styles of clasp do you like for bracelets – let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

