Purses and handbags and weekenders, oh my!

In my recent post about travel souveniers for crafty folk, I mentioned that in addition to fabrics and scrapbooking paper I also purchased a number of bags. I had at least one friend ask to see photos, so although this isn’t really related to dressmaking, sewing, costumes, or crafting, I figured I’d pop a few quick photos up to brag about my gorgeous new additions.

Honestly, I’ve never been a ‘label’ kind of person… but I just loved these bags! (You should have seen how many I fawned over but left behind… mostly due to their price points…)

Skulls on parade

Skulls on parade

E/W Satchel

First up, the one I’ve been using most since I got back, a red Betsey Johnson with a red background, and a black skull and lace print with a colourful floral print. The fabric print name is “Painted Garden” and it’s red colourway (BR88010). (Nope, I’m not sharing prices…) It has two outer pockets (one zipped, one kind of gathered with a magnetic clasp) and a shoulder strap (which I haven’t used, except as a dog-leash for a stray dog I caught… that’s a long story…).

E/W – I had no idea what it stood for, so I did some Googling – it turns out that it means “East West”, and refers to a bag that is wider than it is tall according to a handbag glossary on ebags.

Satchel

Satchel

Weekender

Next, the other one I’ve used numerous times since I got back is a pink and black skull print Betsey Johnson weekender. I love the size of this bag – it’s a perfect weekender size – big enough for a change of clothes, laptop, toiletries and what not – without being TOO big. The only addition I’d want to make it perfect would be a cross-body/shoulder strap for when it’s full, but not heavy.  I took this one up to Edmonton for a long weekend (or rather, a Monday-Wednesday) trip, and have taken it to work to hold paperwork and lunch several times. It’s way more interesting than my reliable backpack, and way more fun than most of my messenger bags.

Weekender

Weekender

Satchels

I love the shape of the next one, which I haven’t used yet. This is yet another skull-themed Betsey Johnson bag, this time in teal. I have actually been wanting a bag this shape for a while, and really, the skulls sell it. It’s a teal background with white lace and skulls, plus the flowers are back too (like the red bag above). It has a zippered pocket on each of the sides as well, and hot silver studs on the pvc trim. The print is called “Skulls & Lace” and the colourway is aqua. (BR92125)

Satchel

Satchel

The next bag is a similar shape, and I think it’s a bit more traditional than the others… no skulls… instead it’s a gorgeous sueded leopard print. It feels SO good to the touch. I don’t LOVE the gold-tone hardware, but for leopard, I’ll let it pass. This one is  a Steve Madden satchel (DO188225).

Satchel

Satchel

Cross-body bags

Crossover bags

Cross-body bags

The next three are all the same design – Betsey Johnson crossovers, with one major part of the bag, and two small pockets on the outside.

I bought the first one thinking it would be a great bag to take to shows – just big enough to bring my ID, credit card, camera, earplugs and phone… but not so big that I’m tempted to bring all my STUFF.

I’ve been using my camera case for shows for a while now, since retiring my old purse that had a cross-body strap (the leather was just worn out), and thought this would be a great alternative. Then I just couldn’t choose a colour!

The bag style is the ‘2-zip crossbody’ (despite having three zippers on the outside…) and the different colourways have different names for their prints.

Crossover bag

Black & White Cross-body bag

The white skulls with lace on black is called “Skulls in Lace” (probably a mis-print from Skulls & Lace) in white (BR91945)

Crossover bag

Black and Blue Cross-body bag

The black skulls on blue is called “Skulls in Bloom” in ‘blue multi’ colourway (BR91945).

Crossover bag

Black and Purple Crossover bag

The purple skulls on black is called “Rockin Skulls” in the colourway grey (BR91945).

This is a fantastic bag – it hangs well cross-body and shortens up nicely for a shoulder bag. I’ve worn the purple/black one to a few shows now, as well as used it as a ‘daily’ purse back and forth with the red E/W bag.

Scarves

Skull scarves from Hawaii

Skull scarves from Hawaii

Oh.. and in addition to the bags, I also got five new scarves…

  • 1 yellow silk scarf with black skulls
  • 2 navy cotton scarves with rust skulls
  • 1 black cotton scarf with white skulls
  • 2 red/orange scarves with grey skulls

This is in addition to the other skull scarves I have… ohboy. I think I have enough skull-printed scarves to have one for each day of the week and never repeat!

Yellow silk scarf with skulls

Yellow silk scarf with skulls

Leave a Reply

