Raku tea bowls

In my previous post I talked about the Open House at Fairview pottery Studios, and the raku demonstration. Something I thought was really cool; they were giving away the completed raku bowls to those of us who came for the Open House! The tea bowls are fairly porous, so they can’t really be used for food/drink. Also, the glazes that the potters use may have heavy metals in them, so that’s another reason these shouldn’t be used for food.

Wide Raku tea bowl with copper inside

Wide Raku tea bowl with copper inside

Still, they’re really pretty! These two (a wide bowl with a copper interior, and a matte multi-coloured bowl) were completed on June 8, 2013.

Wide Raku tea bowl with copper inside

Wide Raku tea bowl with copper inside

Wide Raku tea bowl with copper inside

Wide Raku tea bowl with copper inside

On a nice overcast day, between rain showers, I popped into my backyard and took some photos of the pretty bowls!

Wide Raku tea bowl with copper inside

Wide Raku tea bowl with copper inside

Below is the second bowl, this one has multi-coloured metallic glaze across the whole surface inside and out, and has a matte finish where the other bowl has a glossy finish.

Matte multicoloured raku tea bowl

Matte multicoloured raku tea bowl

Matte multicoloured raku tea bowl

Matte multicoloured raku tea bowl

Matte multicoloured raku tea bowl

Matte multicoloured raku tea bowl

2 comments on “Raku tea bowls

  1. Loyd Artis says:

    Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored at work so I decided to
    browse your website on my iphone during lunch break.

    I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on
    my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow,
    very good blog!

  2. […] A Raku Demonstration (more about that here!) […]

Leave a Reply

