Blingi Beads

While in Turku, Finland there were a number of shops near our hotel selling beads, yarn, and sewing notions.  One was right outside our hotel courtyard, and was Blingi, a tiny little bead store with a lovely selection of ready-made beaded fashion jewelry and loose beads.  The shop also had a very large (considering the size of the shop) of findings.

Blingi Beads

Blingi Beads – yes, the prices were both in Euro and kpl, which I can only assume is the neighboring Swedish krona.

Unfortunately, nothing really leaped out at me saying “buy me! buy me! I’m small and easily packable!”. Instead, a lot of the beads that I really liked were similar to ones I had already purchased, and after making SO many blingy necklaces lately, I had to restrain myself from picking up more of the same things I had loved before (and still love).

The beads seemed reasonably priced, and very nicely displayed – many in easy-to-shop trays as shown above, but also in the window in the pretty martini and cocktail glasses like in the photo below.

Blingi Beads

Blingi Beads

Helmikauppa Blingi
Yliopistonkatu 12 A
20100 Turku, Finland
+358 44 2142008
blingi.fi‎ (Only in Finnish)

…and a yarn shop

Additionally, I popped into a knitting yarn shop (Käsityö-Elisa Ky) around the corner from where we were staying – they had a lovely selection of pretty yarns, and I kept fingering a gorgeous silk blend yarn that I really loved… If only my knitting skills were keen enough for me to justify picking up a few balls with the plan of a simple tank top or something.. but as I’m still working on mastering “scarves” within a reasonable time frame, (and by reasonable, I mean that I still have six balls of yarn on my coffee table waiting to be worked up… not to mention the balls I have stashed in other places around the house) I figured even the prettiest silk balls of yarn should remain on their shelves.

Käsityö-Elisa Ky
Brahegatan 5
20100 Turku, Finland
+358 2 2318327
kasityoelisa.fi (website only in Finnish, though they mention that customer service is available in English.)

… and ribbons

A little further away was a cute shop that I had thought would be a ribbon and buttons shop, but it was much more ribbons and a few sewing notions along with a few (not terribly inspiring) buttons which didn’t really set off my inspiration, and so again my wallet went unopened and the Euros remained in my purse.

Muoti-Nappi Oy
Eriksgatan 8, 20100 Åbo, Finland ‎
+358 2 2316074 ‎

… and crafts!

On our way to the train station to head from Turku to Helsinki we also popped into a small craft store (Presento), but I didn’t spend long in there – I was looking for Finland-themed scrapbook paper but they didn’t have anything that was distinctly Finnish, although they had a fair amount of selection.  The store was two-stories tall, though I only visited the main floor because we were in a hurry to get to the train station.

Askartelupuoti Presento
Kauppiaskatu 13
20100 Turku, Finland
+358 10 3201720
presento.fi (only in Finnish)

We also popped into a dollar-store kind of store which had a small craft selection (including some tempting wool for felting) but again, my wallet stayed closed, as we were really just looking for scrapbook paper!

Viking beads in Turku Castle

In the Turku Castle gift shop there was a neat display of beads for sale in the style of viking beads.  I have a number of similar beads (largely trade beads) so I didn’t feel too tempted to pick any up for my upcoming viking costume. (check out posts from the Garb from a Thousand Lakes category for more information on that)

Viking-style beads in the Turku Castle gift shop

Viking-style beads in the Turku Castle gift shop

Although I didn’t get any, I thought it was neat to photograph and share. I’ll have a few other photos from the castle in future posts, but if you’re interested in seeing more of the castle itself, check out my other blogs. I’m blogging about music and travel on Throwing Horns Abroad and about the culinary experiences on Happy Sushi Belly.

Turku Castle
Linnankatu 80
P.O. Box 286, 20101 Turku
Tel. +358 2 262 0300

Aboa Vetus’ ancient beads

Finally on the bead front, I thought I’d share these glass, bone, and amber beads from the Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova museum in Turku.  This is one part museum, and one part contemporary art museum/gallery.  On the gallery side I wasn’t personally overly impressed – there were a few interesting pieces, but there was a lot of video work as well which didn’t appeal to me very much.  Still, the building was amazing; a former home owned by a cigarette and shipping business owner, and very grand.

The museum side instead was pretty amazing – it was the unearthed remains of an ancient town, long buried, near the Aura River right below the site.

From their website: “Aboa Vetus is an underground area of ruins, where the genuine constructions tell the history of the oldest city in Finland.”

Beads in the Turku museum

Beads in the Turku museum

The photo above is from one of the display cabinets around the ruins, showing beads from 1200-1600 AD that were unearthed from the area.

Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova
Östra Strandgatan 4-6
20700 Turku, Finland
+358 20 7181640
aboavetusarsnova.fi

If you’re interested in seeing any of my other Finland experiences, check out the Finland tag link, where I still have a few things to share!

2 comments on “Blingi Beads

  1. Sofia says:

    Thank you for a nice blog! I really like the look of the beads in Turku Castle gift shop! Since I live in Sweden but spend a lot of time in Finland I just have to point out that “kkp” is short for “kappale” which means “pieces”. So 0,15€/kpl means 0,15 euro per each. In SEK (Swedish krona) the price would have been about 1,30. But I don’t assume that the Turku Castle beads were that cheap… I really liked to read about your adventures i Finland and thanks for the nice listings of places worth visiting!

    • Dawn says:

      Thank you! Shorthand, slang, and other things like that just aren’t good with Google Translate I’m afraid!
      I didn’t even look at the prices of the beads in the Turku Castle gift shop – I have similar beads at home luckily for the project I’m working on… so I restrained myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

