Enlarging an oval

Use a math compass to quickly add an extension to an oval

Use a math compass to quickly add an extension to an oval

When I was working on my Mad Hatter’s Tea Party hat, I needed to come up with a way of easily adding a significant allowance to an oval shape. On Pinterest I’ve seen the “tie an elastic band around two pencils to add seam allowance” photo (which I’m sure works great!) but I needed a bigger allowance than that.

Normally I’d just use a ruler and measure out the extension at a variety of points and then join up the points, but I wanted a quicker method because I needed to do it a few times, so I pulled out my high school math geometry set, and used the compass to add the extension. Of course I checked the depth of the extension at a few points just to double-check, but it worked great!

I just wanted to share this tip for anyone else who might be working on drafting millinery patterns! Let me know if it comes in handy!

Leave a Reply

