I’m still not a ‘purple-person’ – fabric and metal cuff

Purple fabric, rhinestone, and metal cuff bracelet

Purple fabric, rhinestone, and metal cuff bracelet

A while back I posted some jewelry that I made using really pretty pieces from Michael’s craft stores – rhinestone and metal elements. I kept one of the bracelets as a work-in-progress while I waited to find the right fabric to go with it.

Previewing fabric

I found some fabric at Fabricland during one of their 50% off sales, and picked out two different fabrics. I had thought I might use them together, but when I showed them off to some friends, they all agreed that the satin on the left was a better choice than the lighter purple shot stretch silk on the right.

Once the base of the bracelet/cuff was assembled, I took a strip of the darker purple satin three times the length of the bracelet, and did a tiny narrow hem on all four sides.  Then I pleated the fabric, and held the pleats in place with pins (not pressing the pleats though, since I wanted a softer effect) and then sewed it down through the centre.  Then I attached the bracelet to the fabric by hand, and added on magnetic clasps to make the cuff easy to put on and take off.

Purple fabric, rhinestone, and metal cuff bracelet close up showing pleating

Purple fabric, rhinestone, and metal cuff bracelet close up showing pleating

I think the overall effect is VERY dramatic – it’s not really an every-day kind of piece, but will be fun to wear as something bold and pretty… but I’m still not a “purple person”!

Let me know what you think in the comments below!

Purple fabric, rhinestone, and metal cuff bracelet laid flat

Purple fabric, rhinestone, and metal cuff bracelet laid flat

7 comments on “I’m still not a ‘purple-person’ – fabric and metal cuff

  1. Nessa says:

    Aw, why aren’t you a purple person? This fabric is a nice, “modest” shade of purple. I’m sure it will look awesome on anyone, purple person or not. 😉

    • Dawn says:

      I just don’t get all “squeee, it’s purple!” like some of my friends and acquaintances do. I actually have very little purple in my wardrobe, and if something comes in multiple colours, I’m more likely to select red, black, silver, or grey over any other colour… (Mind you, my hair is now presently purple….) Thanks – I have yet to find an occasion to wear this cuff though – it’s not really a “grocery shopping and dog walking” kind of piece. 😮

      • Nessa says:

        Everyone has their own special color I think. (I used to be into pink a lot, for once). And I’m sure, your purple hair will look great with red or silver. 🙂
        The cuff is definitely too pretty to go out into everyday life. But maybe for the next dinner out, or the next party. 😉

  2. Dawn says:

    I think you’re right Nessa… it’s hanging up in my bedroom right now, taunting me… LOL

  3. Nessa says:

    Oh dear, don’t let it taunt you. 😉 The longer it sits there, the sooner will you finally decide to wear it, for dog-walking after all. 😉 I ended up wearing a Bavarian folk costume to uni once, just because the sight of it hanging there all the time got too much. 😀

    • Dawn says:

      That’s fabulous! I’m always afraid to try that closet cull technique of putting things on backwards hangers in the closet in January.. and then ditching anything still backwards in December. Some of these costumes, accessories, etc are so precious.. even if they only ever get admired by ME!

      • Nessa says:

        Oh yes, that one is a bit scary. There is also the one where you chuck out every piece you have not worn in two years. But you’re right, it doesn’t do the costumes any justice. And I admit, I wear mine round the house sometimes, too, so I can enjoy them. 😉

Leave a Reply

