Painting success – Silver Flow

Mixed media painting

Mixed media painting

In my previous post I showed off a painting on silver leaf that wasn’t quite going the way that I hoped. (See below)

Silver painting work in progress

Silver painting work-in-progress

The colours just weren’t as intense as I really wanted, so I knew that I needed to switch up my plans… I did a little looking around online, and thanks to Nancy Reyner’s Acrylic Illuminations, I went with several layers of glaze instead of painting watered-down acrylic on the silver leaf. I also did a WAY better job of applying the leaf, and sealed it with the right sealer…

Instead of trying the same subject again, I decided to do something much more abstract, and was inspired by Carolyn Reynolds’ Still Waters. I am really happy with the result!

Mixed media painting

Mixed media painting

In this second photo you can see how the silver leaf shines through the glaze layers. The final painting is covered with acrylic self-levelling clear gel until I can varnish the final piece.  (I have a few works-in-progress right now, and will just do them all at once once the paints and mediums are fully dry.)

I love it – and I love the depth and intensity of colour!

Oh.. and for those of you who follow me on Twitter – yep – this is the full version of the tweet below!

3 comments on “Painting success – Silver Flow

  1. […] been hanging in my bedroom since I bought it, but I’ll likely be replacing it with one of the other paintings I did not too long […]

  2. Dian says:

    Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.

    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things
    out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but
    I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions?
    Many thanks

    • Dawn says:

      It’s not especially difficult, though the right service seems to make a big difference. I’ve struggled a LOT with my Blogger account, while I’ve found WordPress easy to use. Still, there are benefits to Blogger….. I’d suggest taking a look at some of your favourite blogs and see what they’re doing before you get started. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

