Viking pendants

Viking pendants I bought in Vancouver - Viking ship

Viking pendants I bought in Vancouver – Viking ship

One of the things I seem to constantly be looking for these days is Viking-style pendants and other jewelry (and since I can’t wear earrings, and rarely wear bracelets because I find them irritating when I type… this generally means pendants). When in Seattle I saw a great Thor’s Hammer, but it was WAY too expensive, so I’ve looked in a few other places too. When I was in Vancouver, I found a sweet little shop called DragonSpace Gift Shop on Granville Island. It’s a fantasy-themed shop with Celtic artwork along with dragons galore, fairies, and other gentle (and not-so-gentle) fantasy characters.

I was also pretty psyched to see a very small selection of Viking-style pendants!

The one at the top is a stylized Viking ship based on archeological findings, while others included a Valknut, Mjölnir (Thor’s Hammer), and a Celtic-style lion.  (Yes.. Vikings knew about lions, and decorated their ships with them along with dragons, bulls, dolphins, and other animals/creatures.)

Viking pendants I bought in Vancouver - Valknaut and Hammer

Viking pendants I bought in Vancouver – Valknut and Hammer

I have been wearing the Valknut regularly along with another hammer and my Tyr pendant, as you might remember if you follow me on Twitter.

(but no, I’m not an Odinist, I just like them as pendants, not as a connection to faith.)

Viking pendants I bought in Vancouver - Lion

Viking pendants I bought in Vancouver – Lion

The Lion pendant I thought might be interesting as a pin instead – I think that adapting it with the two bails on the back might be possible… we’ll see!

Viking pendants I bought in Vancouver - back of the Lion

Viking pendants I bought in Vancouver – back of the Lion

I bought these not just because they’re neat, but also for my Viking costume (which is still a work-in-progress I’m afraid… ) I’ll be adding them to the others I mentioned in the post “Viking costume inspiration: Accessories: The Mjölnir

Looking for DragonSpace?
106-1551 Johnston Street
Vancouver, BC
V6H 3R9
Canada
phone +1 (604) 689-8931

Leave a Reply

