Sunset (Acrylic painting)

Sunset during my Alaska cruise

Sunset during my Alaska cruise

I haven’t shared my painting in a while, but I thought I’d post one I finished off a while ago… that I’m actually not too happy with. I don’t know what I don’t like about it – just that it doesn’t do it for me. I’ve decided to live with it for a while before doing anything else with it though. The water isn’t right to me, the clouds aren’t right… it just overall doesn’t work for me… but I think I’m too tired of it to continue working on it right now.

 

Acrylic/mixed media painting of a sunset

Acrylic/mixed media painting of a sunset

It started out as a completely different painting… that I totally messed up on. I ended up covering the canvas entirely with a thick medium, which created lines and ridges that I thought was interesting. From there I covered the surface in gold leaf, and then painted on top of that with a variety of acrylics and acrylic glazes.

 

The painting was vaguely inspired by a photo I took from my trip to Alaska.

Leave a Reply

