Two-colour blended Viking Knit

Blended two-colour Viking Knit necklace with snake-head terminals, a circular spring-gate clasp, and a hammer of Thor wolf-head pendant.  - Close up of the snake-head terminals and wolf-head pendant.

Blended two-colour Viking Knit necklace with snake-head terminals, a circular spring-gate clasp, and a hammer of Thor wolf-head pendant. – Close up of the snake-head terminals and wolf-head pendant.

After working on the Three Colour Viking Knit, I wanted to see if I could get the colours to blend a little better as they went from one colour to the next. This time I used only two colours – blue and purple, but I made some significant changes.

First, I used two wires at a time. This created a lot more fussing around, as the wires sometimes twisted independently of one another and it took more attention to sort out problems.  Since I was using two wires at a time though, I tried to save myself some degree of aggravation by doing the chain in single-knit instead of double-knit.  I used nearly the remaining half-spool of each of the 24 gauge purple coated copper wire and the 24 gauge blue coated copper wire.

The two wire blended Viking Knit - showing the transition from one colour to two

The two wire blended Viking Knit – showing the transition from one colour to two

I did two strands of blue, then a strand of blue and a strand of purple, then two strands of purple, then a strand of blue and a strand of purple.. and so on.

When the Viking Knit came off the dowel, it was 51 cm (approximately 20 inches) long. I drew it through my widest draw plate hole, and the resulting chain was 77.5  cm (approximately 30.5 inches). Each colour is about 7.5 cm long.

End result

Once I had finished drawing the wire I decided to keep it as long as it was, and finished the ends with snake-head terminals. I used a circular spring-gate clasp to close the necklace (though it’s long enough to go over my head) and added a wolf-head hammer of Thor for the time being (I’m not sure if I’ll keep this pendant or not….)

I love how the colours feel sort of indistinct – like you can see purple, and you can see blue, but it’s not entirely clear where one ends and the other begins….

I really also like how this one drapes – although it’s double-wire, it’s only single-knit and wasn’t drawn down super narrow, so there’s plenty of  ‘drape’ and flexibility to the chain.

Blended two-colour Viking Knit necklace with snake-head terminals, a circular spring-gate clasp, and a hammer of Thor wolf-head pendant.

Blended two-colour Viking Knit necklace with snake-head terminals, a circular spring-gate clasp, and a hammer of Thor wolf-head pendant.

If you are looking for some of my other Viking Knit projects, please click the Viking Knit category.

Leave a Reply

