Mixed hand-made cord necklace

Necklace made with three-colour Viking Knit cord and cotton Kumihimo cord (accented by three rhinestone rhondelles)

Necklace made with three-colour Viking Knit cord and cotton Kumihimo cord (accented by three rhinestone rhondelles)

When finishing off the black and red Kumihimo cord, I also decided to use some of the “leftover” Kumihimo cord from my first Kumihimo project (a purple cotton cord with transitioning purple beads) along with some Viking Knit.

This project also uses some “leftover” Viking Knit from the tri-colour Viking Knit project.  I had some chain leftover from the necklace, so I drew it through my draw plate even further, but wasn’t able to get enough (at the smallest draw-plate hole I have) to make another necklace.

I divided the extra non-beaded Kumihimo cord in half, wiring the end and capping both ends with simple end caps. I also capped the ends of the Viking Knit with the same simple end caps, after stringing three large-hole rhinestone rhondelles on the chain. The hand-braided purple cord was attached to the Viking Knit chain, and the necklace is finished with a simple toggle clasp. I might go back later and add a bead or something at the links between the chain and the cord…. but I think I like it as-is too.

 

Leave a Reply

