Historical Sew Fortnightly #17 Yellow

Well.. I really WANTED to do the #17 Challenge for the Historical Sew Fortnightly. I’ve been trying to do every second challenge, since I’m also trying to do some other sewing, take a few classes, work full time and all the rest – but this one just refused to come together.

I’ll admit, I don’t really LIKE the colour yellow. It doesn’t suit me, it’s too bold for regular wear, and the challenge was to use yellow as the main colour – not just as a tiny accent on something.

 “#17: Yellow – due Mon 15 September. Embrace the sunny side with something in any shade of yellow.”

But, on Pinterest I found a photo… I loved it.. and it was gold (that’s like yellow!) velvet – oh.. and did I happen to mention that at the last Grandmother’s fabric sale I picked up some gold silk velvet?

I wanted to make this dress:

(If the linked url doesn’t work, it’s http://www.pinterest.com/pin/290200769710207332/)

So, I drafted up the pattern – laid it out – and I didn’t have enough fabric. I bemoaned the fact for a while on Facebook, tried to come up with some other plan to make it work (make it shorter, substitute in another fabric..) I even auditioned a number of possible lining/coordinating fabrics in hopes of making it work – but it just wouldn’t work.

Still – I hoped. I had some purple velvet along with a recent purchase of some similarly-toned purple fabric to coordinate with it – so I used that to do a mock-up… I was hoping that I would discover that I’d drafted the pattern far too large and I would be able to make the dress in gold after all – nope. Fits perfectly (or at least so far, I’m not quite done yet..)

Oh well. Maybe I’ll just have to keep my eyes out for another meter of gold silk velvet…

 

Leave a Reply

