DIY Whipcord / 4-strand braid

My first strand of whipcord

My first strand of whipcord

I mentioned in my red linen apron dress post that I had used some four-strand braid / whipcord on the top edge of the apron dress… well that was AFTER I learned how to make it (of course!) I just am posting these a little backwards.

I also mentioned whipcord/ 4-strand braid in my previous post, where I had a bunch of different links for instructions/etc.  Well – here’s the results!

Clipping off the whipcord with a pair of hemostats. For bobbins I used kilt pins, held in place with binder clips. High-tech!

Clipping off the whipcord with a pair of hemostats. For bobbins I used kilt pins, held in place with binder clips. High-tech!

The first challenge was the ‘bobbins’ – I don’t have proper bobbins, nor do I even have any old-fashioned clothes pins – but I did have kilt pins and binder clips. I know they’re nothing alike – but they served the purpose well enough. The kilt pin was just handy – has a bit of weight to it without too much, and acts as a winding surface.  Anything I’m sure would have done actually.  The binder clips just clip the wound thread to the pin – allowing me to keep the tails at the right length, and then lengthen them more as the cord is created.

I also used a pair of hemostats to ‘pause’ the braiding, and a metal ruler with another binder clip to hold the braid beginning above my head (and then wound it around the ruler as the braid developed.

It’s no where near authentic – and it’s not high-tech in any way – but it works…

Whipcord hanging

Whipcord hanging

I did notice a few tension problems as I was making the cord, but for the most part I found it pretty successful. It takes a bit to get into the rhythm, and I actually found that when I got TOO into the rhythm it was easier to throw myself off…. but it doesn’t take too long to make a strand of useable cord.

My first strand of whipcord on my white wool hood

My first strand of whipcord on my white wool hood

Here’s the cord on the white wool hood which in this photo is a work-in-progress. The cord will be used to tie the hood back/forward as needed when worn, and I used doubled-up Pearl cotton in red and blue-grey to match the embroidery on the hood.

Leave a Reply

