Viking hammer of Thor necklace at the Saga Museum

child figure at the Saga museum wearing a Thor's hammer necklace

child figure at the Saga museum wearing a Thor’s hammer necklace

I have a super-short post today taking my lovely readers back to Iceland again, and the Saga Museum in Reykjavik.
I was rather pleased to see this young male character’s wax figure wearing a Thor’s hammer (Mjölnir) pendant on a cord.

Four of the pendants I bought.

Four of the pendants I bought.

Although the figure was turned away, so I couldn’t get the best photo of it, it looks a LOT like one of the Mjölnir pendants that I have too!  (The one on a chain on the far left in the photo to the left.) I’m not sure if the one I have was based on an archeological example or not I’m afraid though.

(Look familiar? I originally blogged about these pendants in my post “Viking costume inspiration: Accessories: The Mjölnir” back in February.)

Mother and son figure at the Saga Museum

Mother and son figure at the Saga Museum

Sagamuseum – The Saga Museum
www.sagamuseum.is/
Grandagarður, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
+354 511 1517

Leave a Reply

