1480s Florence – Getting started – Inspiration

Domenico Ghirlandaio, 1486-90: The Birth of Mary Republic of Florence

I’ve spent a very long time (over a year now!) learning about Viking Age clothing, and then making several elements for a Viking Age costume wardrobe. There are still things I’d like to make – a few things that I won’t really be able to make, and a few things that I’m opting not to make… but now it’s time to move on.

Viking Age clothing is comfortable, familiar, easy to wear, and seems to fit in nicely with the SCA events I’ve been to so far… but that’s not all I want to make. I’m also interested in so many other costumes, so I’m on to the next one – this time around I’m going to give 1480s Florence a try!

I started off with Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/sadinadawn/italian-renaissance/

That helped me find a number of paintings, as well as a number of other dress diaries such as:

As well as recreations featured on kostym.cz such as:

Paintings of note include:

So that’s a good jumping-off point I think! I might come back and update this later on…

Until then, I’ll be blogging about this with the category 1480s Florence, and then using different sub-categories for different elements of an outfit.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.