Another Viking Age Festoon

You might remember that I made a Viking Age Festoon (half-necklace) a while back for my Viking Age costume. Then I bought some museum replica beads while in Iceland, along with some charms/pendants to make a treasure necklace!

First Festoon

 

Top of the blue apron dress with my festoon and broaches

Top of the blue apron dress with my festoon and broaches

Above is the first (two) festoons I made. I actually attached them together so I’m calling it a single… You might remember this from the Viking Age Festoon post or from the post where I showed off my blue linen apron dress.

Auditioning the new festoon

So I strung up the beads and charms along with some other beads I had/bought – and shared the photo with a Viking costuming group on Facebook. I was most looking for some feedback on what others might think of the beads and stringing.

Auditioning a new viking festoon

Auditioning a new viking festoon

Below are some of the close ups of the charms I used:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Close up on some of the charms I bought for my Treasure Necklace

Close up on some of the charms I bought for my Treasure Necklace

One of the charms is a replica of a pendant assumed to be of Freya with her multi-level necklace. The original was found in Östergötland, Sweden, and was silver. I saw the original at the Vikings in BC exhibit, and you can see more here: mis.historiska.se and it’s dated simply “Viking Age”. It was a grave find, and from the same location they’ve found more pendants, charms, coins, buckles, a ring, cremated bone, chain, a fire-starter, an arrowhead, a box hasp, and beads. (The website doesn’t indicate if it was from the same location – or the same grave… if it was the same grave that would be amazing… since there were both buckles and beads…)

Close up on some of the charms I bought for my Treasure Necklace

Close up on some of the charms I bought for my Treasure Necklace

The other two are Viking age coin replicas – I just reversed them when I strung them to give two different looks. They are similar to these coins from a grave find that were used as  pendants, found in Gotland, Sweden. They were of “different origins” according to the website, and were made of silver.

Some of the beads are the triple beads found in a number of Viking Age graves/settlements.  I saw similar ones at the Settlement museum in Iceland, from Reykjavik area and the island of Viðey dated to between 930-1000. I’ve also seen beads like this online originally found in Norway, Sweden (Gotland) and other areas. These are museum replicas, and pretty much identical to the triple beads from Asgard Crafts.

Close up on some of the charms I bought for my Treasure Necklace

Close up on some of the charms I bought for my Treasure Necklace

Two of the beads are blue swirled with yellow. These are museum replicas, and pretty much identical to the blue and yellow bumble bee beads from Asgard Crafts. I did look online and didn’t quickly see which finds these might have been based on though.

Another replica bead is a faceted purple bead I really liked. This is similar to a lot of the faceted beads I saw at the Vikings in BC exhibit of beads from Sweden, and I’ve seen many similar ones online from other areas.

I also noticed that a lot of the beads I saw in museum displays were the shape and size of pony beads, so I purchased a package of red and blue glass beads that were about the size and shape of pony beads. Tillerman Beads refers to these as Annular beads – used throughout a variety of eras in a variety of places.

I also had some beads in my “stash” which were round and smaller which I used as ‘filler’ beads – luckily I had them in the same colour scheme.

I also had some vintage blue ‘doughnut’ glass beads which are pretty much identical to some of the Viking Age beads I saw at  the Settlement museum in Iceland, from Reykjavik area and the island of Viðey dated to between 930-1000. I was actually shocked to see mine were nearly identical to the museum finds.  I also found a photo that looks very similar (albeit duller) from a find in Gotland, Sweden of these blue ‘doughnut’ beads. 

Finished festoon

New black apron dress, worn with new brooches, a new key, and a new festoon.

New black apron dress, worn with new brooches, a new key, and a new festoon.

The feedback from the Viking group on Facebook was all pretty positive, and so I ended up stringing the beads up as I originally did, and wore it just like that – as seen in my recent photo of my black apron dress.

 

 

 

One comment on “Another Viking Age Festoon

Leave a Reply

