Enchantment Under the Sea: 1950s Prom

Original sketch for Enchantment Under The Sea costume

Original sketch for Enchantment Under The Sea costume

If you’ve been reading my blog before you might know that I’ve been the chair of the social committee where I work for the past two years(and before that I sat on the committee as well). Last year we planned a Mad Hatter’s Tea Party to celebrate the ‘holiday season’ (aka Christmas for a very politically-correct, multi-cultural, multi-faith organization). I ended up getting sick at the last minute and couldn’t attend. The year before our theme was a Masquerade party, and my costume was an Anubis-inspired costume with a hand-made mask. (Previously we also did a time-travel party and I did a steampunk costume.)

In July I stepped down from the committee (partially I’m running out of time, and partially I’m concerned about the amount of work the committee is starting to require) but I’m still really excited about the party theme we’ve chosen for the 2014 holiday party. Since we started a great deal of the party planning before I stepped down, it also means I have an inside look into how the party will come together, and I think it’s going to be great!

I’ll be collecting all of my ideas under the tag “Enchantment Under the Sea” for the time being… so if it’s after the party – click for all of the related posts – if not – stay tuned!

Enchantment Under the Sea: 1950s Prom

Inspired a lot from the “dance” scene in Back To The Future, I started collecting a few ideas…

Under the sea party

Party ideas – I collected ideas on decor, food, favours, drinks, and other party-making ideas on a Pinterest board. If you’re thinking of a similar party… check out the 1950s Under the Sea party pin board.

Dress pattern

1950s prom dress ideas – I pulled together a small pin board with some of my favourite looks inspired by vintage 1950s dress ideas. There aren’t a lot of dress designs that really speak to me though…

Mermaid bra-top

Octopus costume ideas – I started out with the idea of blending an octopus costume with a 1950s prom dress, and then expanded my ideas to any kind of sea life… These two were gathered on Pinterest – I find it’s a great visual way of pulling ideas together. I’ve pinned costumes, accessories, home decor, illustrations, artwork, etc…

I just REALLY wish Pinterest would work on my iPad. Right now they’re trying to force users to download the app – which I’m not interested in doing. Why would I want to download an app to view a website? What benefit does that give me as the end-user?

Fabric options

Even before I picked a design, I looked at fabrics – namely Hologram scale fabric – I saw these in leggings and loved them – There are a few sellers on Etsy selling them (at about $25/meter) but I also found them at Spandex World (for US$13-15/yard) and Spandex House (for US$13/yard). It’s the same fabric from Black Milk’s mermaid line. If I go in this direction I might also check out the store locally that carries a lot of dance fabrics, Reena’s (though they don’t have this print on their website).

However… I ended up going a different direction – and wasn’t too keen on ordering in something as time got a bit tighter.

Instead I headed to Fabricland’s Hallowe’en sale (where Hallowe’en fabric (the ugly printed satins) was something like 70% off (I think), and everything else was 50% off. I picked up some embellished netting that I THOUGHT was part of the Hallowe’en sale, but it wasn’t. I matched that up with some dark royal blue knit, and then auditioned different colours of tulle forever before settling on sort of  a dark teal.

I also have some striped silk which I needed to over-dye (it was blue and green stripes, and it dyed to a much more subtle blue stripe), some sequined trim, and a few other scraps of fabric from my stash…

 Update: December 10, 2014

I just wanted to share a quick iPhone photo showing off how pretty the social committee decorated the room – look at the cute jellyfish they made!

Cute jellyfish lantern decorations at party

Cute jellyfish lantern decorations at party

 

Leave a Reply

