Enchantment Under the Sea – Necklace

Necklace for my Enchantment under the Sea costume - dangling clear blue beads on a silver chain

Necklace for my Enchantment under the Sea costume – dangling clear blue beads on a silver chain

When I was collecting my pin-board for my Enchantment Under the Sea costume, I came across a necklace that I really liked for the concept. Although it doesn’t necessarily say “1950s” I thought it had a watery look to it that appealed to me for the overall costume theme.

Keep reading below and I’ll share how I made it!

To make it I used:

  • 27 clear blue glass teardrop beads – these were on three-colour strands from Michael’s, so I could theoretically also make a dark blue or light teal version if I wanted to too… Lots of leftover beads!
  • Tiny silver-plated beads from Micheal’s. These were used because the tip of my headpin was smaller than my bead hole.
  • Eye pins and head pins – these were in my ‘stash’
  • Silver chain, jump rings, and a lobster clasp – all of these were in my ‘stash’ as well. The lobster clasp is the wrong colour, but I wasn’t going to go shopping just for a clasp! I might replace it later.
  • Tiny silver-tone bead caps – from Beads & Plenty More
  • Needle nose pliers, eye-pin pliers – the needle nose pliers I had in my toolkit, but having to make SO many eyes, I checked out three different places (Beads & Plenty More, Micheal’s, and The Bead Store Fashion Jewellery Outlet) before picking up a pair at the last place. Actually… I picked up two pairs – they didn’t look well made, so I figured since they were hard to find, I’d get two.

It was pretty time-consuming and finicky to make. This is the reason when I use rosary-style beads, I buy them pre-wired!

Enchantment Under the Sea costume necklace.

Enchantment Under the Sea costume necklace.

The original inspiration:


From: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/290200769711776661/

Stay tuned, I’ll be sharing the dress and the complete look soon! Keep following the Enchantment Under the Sea category for all of the related posts!

 

Leave a Reply

