Historical Sew Fortnightly 2014 project index

I only joined the Historical Sew Fortnightly 2014 mid-way through the year (in time for #14), but I thought I’d post an index of the projects I completed as part of the challenges.

Not attempted

Norse ‘pillbox’ hat

wool "pillbox" hat

wool “pillbox” hat

#7: Tops & Toes – Tops and Toes and focuses on accessories: specifically those that go on top of your head, and on your feet. (April 15, 2014…. but I did it long, long later.)

 

Italian Saccoccia (purse/pouch)

Embellished Saccoccia - an Italian pocket/pouch

Embellished Saccoccia – an Italian pocket/pouch

#10: Art – Art is simple: make something inspired by a work of art.

Through the art of backdating, I’ve assigned this pouch to this challenge, well after the challenge was due, in an ongoing attempt to work on some of the 2014 challenges during 2015.

1913 Lampshade dress

Selfie in my turban - don't even ask me why my eyes are closed!

Selfie in my turban – don’t even ask me why my eyes are closed!

#11: The Politics of Fashion – World affairs have both affected, and been affected by, fashions.  Craft something that demonstrates the interactions between dress and political history.

This was also a project completed after the deadline, as I went back and did some of the challenges that came up after I joined.

Not attempted

  • #12: Shape & Support –  Make a garment that changes the silhouette of the human form through shaping and support.

Points

My version of lacing "points" - work in progress

My version of lacing “points” – work in progress

#13: Under $10 –  Whip up a fabulous item for under $10 (we’ll use US$ as the de-facto standard)

This was also a project completed after the deadline, as I went back and did some of the challenges that came up after I joined.

 

Plaid hoods (two ways)

London Hood style hood

London Hood style hood

#14: Paisley & Plaid  – this is when I first joined the HSF, and I started fairly small with two plaid hoods to meet the challenge requirements.

Basketweave linen coat

Front opening with embroidered contrast reverse facing and tri-lobed brooch

Front opening with embroidered contrast reverse facing and tri-lobed brooch

#15: The Great Outdoors – due Fri 15 August.  Get out into the weather and dirt with an item for outdoor pursuits.

Red linen apron dress

Red linen apron dress - just missing the brooches!

Red linen apron dress – just missing the brooches!

#16 – Terminology

Unsuccessful

#17: Yellow – I tried to do this one… but the fabric I really wanted to use wasn’t enough for the project I wanted to make!

#18: Poetry in Motion – I just didn’t know where to start with this one.

Norse-themed pilgrim’s bag

Completed bag

Completed bag

#19: HSF Inspiration  – I did this one well after the deadline. Originally I wasn’t sure what to do for it, but then when a need came upon me, I looked for inspiration to fill it.

Black linen apron dress

New black apron dress, worn with new brooches, a new key, and a new festoon.

New black apron dress, worn with new brooches, a new key, and a new festoon.

#20: Alternative Universe – due Sat 1 November.  Create a garment from an alternative universe: fantasy, steampunk, dieselpunk, etc.  Your item can be perfectly historically accurate within our own universe as well.

Skjoldehamn hood

The finished Skjoldehamn style hood in white wool

The finished Skjoldehamn style hood in white wool

#1: Make Do & Mend – due Wed 15 Jan. Let’s start of the year with a clean slate, and with a bit of a tidy up.
AND #21: Re-do – due Sat 15 November.  Pick any previous challenge and re-do it (or do it for the first time).

Unsuccessful

#22: Fort-nightliers Choice (Gentlemen)  – I didn’t even know where to start with this either!

Skull Print circle skirt

1950s style circle skirt in a skull & crossbones cotton print.

1950s style circle skirt in a skull & crossbones cotton print.

#23: Modern History – Make something historical or historically inspired that is wearable in an everyday context.

Enchantment Under the Sea

Enchantment Under the Sea costume complete!

Enchantment Under the Sea costume complete!

#24: All that Glitters – Celebrate your completion of HSF ’14, and the New Year, with a glittery, glitzy, sparkly, shiny, something.

Looking back

Although I’ve done a number of projects/posts other than those for the Historical Sew Fortnightly – I’ve had a lot of fun working on the challenges, incorporating garments and costume items I wanted to make, and using the timelines for blogging and creating… As I write this (December 7th – yes, this is a scheduled post…) the creator of the HSF hasn’t decided if she’s going to do a 2015 version or not (or what it might look like) but I’m hoping that she will – and hopefully I’ll be able to make a few more of the things that I have on my costuming wish-list too!

Update – December 11th: We just got word that there will be a HSF for 2015, but instead of “fortweekly” it will be monthly challenges.  The first challenge will be “Foundations” – so that sounds like it’s time to plan that Italian Renaissance chemise I’ve been putting off after all!

One comment on “Historical Sew Fortnightly 2014 project index

  1. […] way behind on this challenge for 2014, but since I’d like to fill in that index I posted in December, I’m going to call […]

Leave a Reply

