The Beehive – Victoria, BC

iPhone photo from the Beehive wool shop in Victoria, BC.

iPhone photo from the Beehive wool shop in Victoria, BC.

Another shopping post from my trip to Victoria!  This is The Beehive wool Shop.  I first went looking for  Knotty by Nature – a wool shop that I fell in love with the last time I was in Victoria, but they had moved, and were too far out of my way to go to.  The Beehive is more of a knitting shop than the wool /spinning/ roving shop that I adored (and hoped to get more roving from!) but still a lovely shop with a huge selection of quality yarns.


Since while I was in Victoria, I was still very much focused on my Viking age garb, I was looking for 100% wool and 100% linen for my costumes. I’m not great at knitting (and the Vikings didn’t use knitting anyways, they used Naalbinding) so I was looking for yarns for embellishment of my costumes – transitioning from the cotton embroidery yarns that I’ve been using to something with a more authentic fiber content.

Linen and wool yarn from the Beehive

Linen and wool yarn from the Beehive

I ended up picking up some bright red 100% lace wool, and a matching bit in a speckled charcoal grey. I also found the 100% linen yarn in a raspberry and a steel blue-grey that I adore.  Are you noticing my colourway?

iPhone photo from the Beehive wool shop in Victoria, BC.

iPhone photo from the Beehive wool shop in Victoria, BC.

I only took a few photos with my iPhone – I was too busy looking at all the yarns!

The Beehive Wool Shop
1700 Douglas St, Victoria, BC V8W 2G7
(250) 385-2727

http://www.beehivewoolshop.com/

Knotty By Nature
1704 Lillian Rd, Victoria, BC
250-412-0198

http://www.kbnfibres.ca/

Leave a Reply

