Vikings exhibit gift shop

Various beaded necklaces and bracelets in the gift shop at the Viking exhibit at the museum in Victoria.

Various beaded necklaces and bracelets in the gift shop at the Viking exhibit at the museum in Victoria.

It might seem a little silly, but I thought I’d take some photos from the gift shop at the Vikings in BC exhibit that I visited this past summer and share them with you here in my Dress Diary – during the holidays when I’m probably sewing.. but not spending a lot of time on my computer!

As a resource, there were a number of items from Gaukler Medieval Wares though it appeared as though some of the items were mass made, others by smaller industries, and others still possibly by local craftspeople.

There was a fair amount of diversity in the gift shop – ranging from the obscure (Viking figures with horned helmets…. which I found lent a lot of dis-credibility to the museum in general. I saw these memory wire bracelets with seed beads for instance (photograph above) which had me scratching my head… they were even labeled as “Viking Seed Bead Bracelet” – all of the beads I’ve ever seen from Viking finds have been much, much larger, and certainly not on memory wire!

There were also lovely reproductions though in sharp contrast to the strange modern items labeled “Viking” – such as several jewellery items and amazing reproductions of Birka glasses (for $130!!!!) Needless to say, while I bought some jewellery, I didn’t buy the glasses!

Lovely new additions to my Viking Kit

Assortment of things I bought at the museum shop during the Viking exhibit

Assortment of things I bought at the museum shop during the Viking exhibit

  • Animal head cuff-style bracelet
  • Blue glass beads
  • 25mm Bronze Ring Pin – $18.00
  • Viking Raven Pewter (but copper coloured?)Pin – $14.00 – these are similar to, but not exactly the same as the Uppåkra site finds from Southern Sweden. The original Uppåkra “bird-fibula” find is bronze gilded with silver, 6cm tall, and dated to the Late Scandinavian Iron Age (400-1050 CE). Rifat Rahm writes that this brooch was one of several styles from the region dated to the Merovingian Period including beak-shaped, equal-arm, oval, round, and S-shaped brooches. He continues that the S-shaped brooches indicate a connection with Italy & Southern Germany, the equal-armed brooches suggest a connection to Germany, the oval brooches suggest import from Southern Europe, while the beak-type were common in Scandinavia and probably produced in a large scale locally.
  • Pitney Pewter Pin (round) – $14.00 – “Found in Pitney, Somerset, England, the brooch is dated to the late 11th century and shows an entwined animal and snake in combat.”  Reproductions available from the British Museum shop.
  • Small Viking Coin pendant – $12.00
  • 27mm Bronze Valkyrie pendant (mis-labeled as an Odin pendant) – $14.00 Based on notes *here* I believe this is intended to be a reproduction of a pendant found in Birka, Uppland, Sweden, Grave 825, 10th Century.
  • Silver-plated Freya (round) pendant – $14.00 Based on notes *here* I believe this is intended to be a reproduction of a pendant found in Ostergotland, Sweden, dated to the 6th Century.


In fact.. I’ve already strung up the coins and Freya pendant on my latest festoon!

Leave a Reply

