Buddha head bracelet

 

Close-up of the Buddha charm

Close-up of the Buddha charm

When I was in Hawaii in February I found these adorable little silver Buddha-head charms and knew I wanted to make a bracelet for my BFF. She’s made herself other items with Buddha heads in the past, and she loves silver-tone items, so I thought it would make a really cute gift for her birthday. (Yep.. this is a delayed post… her birthday has passed! No spoilers!)

 

Pretty Buddha head bracelet

Pretty Buddha head bracelet

Her wrists are significantly smaller than mine, so I went online and found a measurement chart for wrist sizes, and trimmed some chain I had bought down to size. Hopefully this fits her – if not, I can always shorten it further! (Plus she also has the tools to shorten it if desired…)

 

Close-up of the Buddha charm

Close-up of the Buddha charm

While adding on each of the Buddha-head charms, I slid on a single red glass bead onto each of the jump rings. This was so fussy, but I like the tiny bit of colour it offers the otherwise silver-tone bracelet.

 

The safety chain on the magnetic clasp for this bracelet.

The safety chain on the magnetic clasp for this bracelet.

I finished the bracelet with a magnetic clasp. I’m pretty sure that any other closure for a bracelet is silly – anything that involves two hands to do up or undo just seems silly for a bracelet; who wants to enlist help to get in or out of a piece of jewelry!? I’ve been using magnetic clasps for a while on bracelets, and have yet to lose one, but all the same I also added a tiny safety chain. What this does, is enable the wearer to open the bracelet, slip her hand in, and then secure the closure… BUT.. if the closure does happen to open, it would still have to slip over her hand, rather than just fall off. For more expensive jewelry, this is a great compromise to both ease of wear and security. Plus, the little dangling chain is cute, and isn’t longer than the charms themselves, so it isn’t likely to get in the way.

 

The bracelet and earrings

The bracelet and earrings

I also made a pair of matching earrings, since I ended up getting two extra charms. I know she prefers smaller, more discreet earrings most of the time, but I think she will like these once in a while! (Of course, I had to match the bracelet with a tiny red bead on the jump ring!)

 

Buddha head bracelet and earrings displayed on the rim of a glass

Buddha head bracelet and earrings displayed on the rim of a glass

Leave a Reply

