Housekeeping – a new menu

I started out really keen on Steampunk fashion, crafts, & accessories.....

I started out really keen on Steampunk fashion, crafts, & accessories…..

When I first started my dress diary, I was super-excited about Steampunk fashion, (and I still think it’s awesome!) but I’ve noticed in the past while that my focus has been shifting to more historically-accurate or historically-inspired costumes, followed by fantasy costumes, and other creative goodness.

With that in mind, I’ve decided to re-organize the menu structure of my diary to make it a little more aligned with my current focus.

So.. now I have:

  • Fantasy costumes (costumes that have no, or very little basis in historical accuracy)
  • Historical costumes (costumes that are at least inspired by actual historical fashion, if not a reasonable attempt given my level of skill, time, and resources)
  • Viking costumes (because I’m still super-interested in that, and think there’s enough there for it’s own category!
  • and Accessories (where you’ll find millinery and jewellery like before).

The Steampunk section has completely moved into the Fantasy section, though you’ll still find a fair amount of cross over – for instance when I was blogging about my Enchantment Under The Sea costume – I used authentic cutting layouts from 1950s fashion… so they’re sorted out that way.

I think I'm mostly writing about Viking Age right now though!

I think I’m mostly writing about Viking Age right now though!

There are still a few topics that don’t have their own real category yet, like general crafting, painting, or beauty-blog stuff, but I’m ok with that for the time being since they’re much less frequent posts for me. I also know that some of the categories are empty right now… posts are coming in those areas – and I wanted to work on the menu all at once instead of trying to remember after the fact!

What do you think?

How do you like the new layout of the menu? Do you think it will make the blog easier to navigate? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

