Fire Mountain Gems order #2

I’ll admit to a bit of retail therapy lately (or, online shopping which isn’t quite the same)… I’ve been going through a hard time with work and family things, so a little happy in the mail (dulled a bit by insane duty charges…) is nice.

I placed another order with Fire Mountain Gems, and figured that I’d record down what I got, and what I plan for it, in case I forget or want to re-order a specific item.

 

Tudor costume

Item Link Plan
Flat back, Swarovski crystal rhinestone, Crystal Passions®, dark Siam  2.5-2.7mm H20-2352CR Rhinestones for the looped ‘diamond’ – possibly for billiments for a hood.

 

   Flat back, Swarovski crystal rhinestone, dark indigo, foil back, 2.5-2.7mm  H20-9831CY  Rhinestones for the looped ‘diamond’ – possibly for billiments for a hood.
   Component, antiqued silver-finished “pewter” (zinc-based alloy), 8x8mm  H20-9119FY  embellishing clothing
 Link, antiqued silver-plated brass, 20x20mm single-sided diamond  H20-5131FY  embellishing clothing
 Link, silver-plated brass, 18x17mm diamond.  H20-A4812FN  the “looped” diamond mentioned above. Embellish with rhinestones and use on a hood probably
   Bead, silver-finished steel, 6x1mm smooth heishi.  H20-1448MB  embellishing clothing

General crafting or general medieval

Item Link Plan
Chain, gold-finished steel, 11x8mm  H20-C6983CL  Handle for wooden lantern
 Huggy Spool®, soft plastic, clear, 2-1/2 inch round with 3/4 inch hole  H20-5609BS  Kumihimo and four-strand braiding
 Cord end, glue-in, stainless steel, 30x15mm dragon head, 12.5×3.5mm  H20-B1577FN  Unsure – the cord end doesn’t have an attachment point
   Bracelet, stretch, garnet (natural), 6-7mm round, 7-inches, D grade  H20-9129CK  Unsure – I just love garnets and the price on these beads was good.
 Bracelet, stretch, garnet, round, 15-16mm, 8-inches.  H20-8776CK  Unsure – I just love garnets and the price on these beads was good.
 Wire, Zebra Wire™, natural copper, round, 16 gauge.  H20-1725WR  Probably Viking knit – the price on their wire was quite good.
W ire, Zebra Wire™, copper, silver color, round, 24 gauge.  H20-1471WR   Probably Viking knit – the price on their wire was quite good.
   Pliers, EUROTOOL®, tapered, stainless steel / rubber / nylon  H20-3998TL  tool drawer
 Replacement jaw, EUROTOOL®, nylon.  20-4003TL  tool drawer
 Wire, Zebra Wire™, natural copper, round, 28 gauge.  H20-1450WR   Probably Viking knit – the price on their wire was quite good.
 Wire, Zebra Wire™, color-coated copper, sapphire blue, round, 24 gauge.  H20-2204WR   Probably Viking knit – the price on their wire was quite good.
 Wire, Zebra Wire™, color-coated copper, red, round, 24 gauge.  H20-2184WR   Probably Viking knit – the price on their wire was quite good.
   Cord end, glue-in, antiqued silver-finished “pewter”  H20-9053FY  Little hanging thing for tables

Viking/Norse & Finnish costume

Item Link Plan
 Coiling Gizmo®, 1.8mm and 3.5mm wire crank with instructions.  H20-2052TL  coils for Finnish costume
 Focal, snake head cowrie shell (natural), 29x23mm  H20-G1017CL  Originally planned on this for a treasure necklace, but they’re a lot larger than I anticipated
 Clasp, hook-and-eye, antiqued silver-finished “pewter”  H20-A6046FN  Possibly leg wrap hooks?
 Bead, carnelian (dyed / heated), medium to dark, 9x6mm-14x8mm  H20-E7162CL  necklace/festoon
   Link, Blue Moon Beads®, acrylic and “pewter” (zinc-based alloy), clear,  H20-C3562CL  I had hoped these would be domed on on side and flat on the other as described, but they aren’t….. so I’m unsure.
   Drop, silver-plated brass, 15mm flat round.  H20-1708FY  I’m thinking of mocking up some “coins” for a treasure necklace.
   Bracelet, cuff, antiqued gold-finished steel, 47mm wide  H20-4264JD  Unsure…. I had thought it would work with the Finnish costume, but now I don’t know.
   Neckwire, silver-plated brass, 3.5mm twisted wire, 7.5mm ball ends  H20-1482FX  I had hoped this would work as a torc, but it’s too small on me to sit correctly. I might gift it away.
 Chain, silver-plated brass, 4mm rolo.  H20-3036CH  To hang from either the Norse or Finnish costume
   Wire, Zebra Wire™, brass, gold color, round, 22 gauge.  H20-2225WR  to make the Finnish coils
 Wire, Zebra Wire™, brass, gold color, round, 24 gauge.  H20-1466WR   to make the Finnish coils
   Wire, Zebra Wire™, copper, silver color, round, 12 gauge.  H20-1744WR  I’d like to try my hand at a torc…
 Wire, Zebra Wire™, copper, silver color, round, 22 gauge  H20-1481WR  I’d like to try my hand at a torc…
 Clasp, hook, antiqued silver-finished “pewter” (snake)  H20-A9904FN  ends on a torc.

 

Italian Renaissance costume

Item Link Plan
 Pendant, antiqued aluminium and glass, black, 40x40mm heart  H20-2934JD  Brooches? I don’t know if they’ll work now that I have received them.
 Drop, acrylic pearl and antiqued silver-finished “pewter”  H20-C9647CL  Stash & to add to other jewellery pieces
 Drop, acrylic pearl and antiqued silver-finished “pewter”  H20-C9650CL   Stash & to add to other jewellery pieces
 Cord, imitation silk, gold, 1mm.  H20-1916BS  Reta/netted head piece
 Clasp, hook-and-eye, Chinese glass rhinestone and antiqued silver-finish  H20-A4386FN  front-lacing bodice lacing rings perhaps?

Oh.. and yes.. I have used much of what I bought in my last Fire Mountain Gems order… 😉

Apart from the few items that came differently than I had anticipated – I am pretty happy with the order. However, I was pretty astonished that I had to pay $50.00 in duty!

Leave a Reply

