Viking Knit on fabric

The chain on the fabric, after the dowel was removed

The chain on the fabric, after the dowel was removed

I have a rather large project to share with you soon, but in the meantime I’m going to post a few photos about samples I made leading up to that project…

The chain on the dowel

The chain on the dowel

One example of Viking Knit from the 10th Century is a silk cuff with Trichinopoly chain / Viking Knit on it. I wanted to give a try to the technique…
I did this in single-knit with 26 gauge silver-plated copper wire with a smaller dowel than I usually use for my chains (since it wouldn’t be going through the draw plate). I did this as a three-rib knit rather than my normal 5, because I was told that was how the original had been constructed.
I used a scrap of heavy coat-weight wool and pulled the wire through on one side.

The chain on the dowel

The chain on the dowel

The resulting chain after I removed the dowel (top) is a lot larger and more fragile-feeling than I think the original would be.  My next step after this is to use a smaller dowel, and try double-knit instead of single-knit to see if that improves the result.

Stay tuned.. my “big project” is coming soon, but some more samples first!

Leave a Reply

