Copper and blue beaded Trichinopoly chain

Beaded blue and copper trichinopoly (Viking Knit) chain, after going through my draw plate

Beaded blue and copper trichinopoly (Viking Knit) chain, after going through my draw plate

I completely love my latest Trichinopoly (Viking Knit) project. After making the silver-plated copper chain with garnets, I decided to try the technique with seed beads as well. It’s a five-row chain done in 28 gauge copper (the thinnest I’ve used so far) with a silver-lined blue glass seed bead every 3rd “stitch” – the result is much less bead-dense than the silver/garnet chain and the result is super light, delicate-looking, and pretty.

Finished chain after going through the draw plate

Finished chain after going through the draw plate

  • 28 gauge copper wire
  • Silver-lined blue glass seed beads (didn’t count)
  • Before pulling 37 cm
  • After pulling 90 cm
  • Drawplate approx 6 mm
the chain after it came off the dowel

the chain after it came off the dowel

I did a bit of unbeaded chain at either end of the chain as well, where a clasp or ends might be attached. I haven’t yet added one; I don’t have many copper findings on hand so I’ll need to pick some up soon.

Slideshow

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

