Black lace skull shawl / scarf

Lace skull-design shawl with black fringe

Lace skull-design shawl with black fringe

I’ve been obsessed with the crochet skull scarf / shawl that makes it to the top page of my Pinterest wall at least once a month. (And even more envious of a friend when she got one from a crafty friend…) Of course the big problem – I don’t crochet.

When I saw this skull-design lace in the Halloween section of a fabric store though… it got me thinking – what if I made my own out of fabric, instead of trying to convince one of my own crafty friends to make me one…?

Materials for the skull lace shawl / scarf

Materials for the skull lace shawl / scarf

Materials are pretty simple – the lace fabric, and some fringe. Of course I also need thread, scissors, sheer binding, etc….

Bad cutting job at the store!

Bad cutting job at the store!

The first step was straightening the fabric – the person who had cut it did a HORRIBLE job of cutting the fabric, and as you can see, it was off by over 5 inches on one end. I didn’t measure the other end, but it was also off.  If the person measuring and cutting had measured dead-on, that means I would have been paying for over 5 inches of basically unusable fabric. BOO. (This is one of the problems in fabric stores hiring people who don’t sew…)

Cutting out the skull lace shawl / scarf

Cutting out the skull lace shawl / scarf

Once the fabric was straight on the top end, I measured (twice!) and cut (once!) to get the shape of the shawl / scarf.

Adding the sheer black fishnet to the raw edge of the lace

Adding the sheer black fishnet to the raw edge of the lace

Since the two angled sides would be trimmed with fringe, I didn’t worry about finishing them. (The raw edges on lace won’t fray anyways, finishing the edges is more about stability and appearance.) However the top edge won’t have fringe on it, so I needed to trim that. I decided to cut very narrow strips of a really fine stretch fishnet fabric and fold it over the edge, then sew it down.

From there it was just a matter of (very carefully) sewing the fringe onto the angled edges!

Lace skull-design shawl with black fringe

Lace skull-design shawl with black fringe

Cost:

  • “Sew Spooky” lace, 150cm wide, 1 meter @$20.00/meter less 20%
  • 6″ fringe, 3 meters @$14.00/meter less 20% (though there’s a bit of fringe leftover)
  • Plus GST of course! (and thread.. the bit of netting, etc..)
Lace skull-design shawl with black fringe

Lace skull-design shawl with black fringe

Join me on Facebook!

It’s been a really long time since I sent out a reminder about my Facebook page. If you follow my blog, but don’t use Twitter or an RSS reader, consider joining me on Facebook, and you’ll get regular updates about my blog posts, as well as a few other things here and there. https://www.facebook.com/DawnsDressDiary

Leave a Reply

