Largess Youth Sideless Surcotes

Front view of the parti-coloured surcote

Front view of the parti-coloured surcote

Not long ago, I was given some fabric that I’d not normally use for myself – polyester double-knit. It’s sturdy, easy to wash, stretches slightly, and has a good drape – but it’s just not my thing. BUT… there was an upcoming call for largess (gifts) that I thought I would make something for.. but what..

I’m personally a big fan of natural fibers, but there are some advantages to synthetics, especially when it comes to a frequent need to wash, especially in hot water. Plus, there are plenty of people who are allergic/sensitive to natural fibers.. so since this isn’t for me, I’m not so worried about the lack of natural fibers. There seems to be lots of use of synthetics in SCA costuming, although it’s frequently shunned by the purists.

Then a friend was posting about bringing her young nieces and nephews to an event, and asking if there was much Gold Key (clothing to loan to people who don’t have their own) and someone said that there was very little for youth.

So, I figured for my largess I’d make some youth clothing!

I drafted up a pattern to fit my child-size dress form, and made them in three lengths with different sized gores for the centre back hem. I also decided to make one parti-coloured. The heraldry for Avacal, the SCA kingdom I’m a part of, is red, gold, and white, so I opted to band the red with gold and the gold with red.

How proud I am of myself that it took almost no time at all to draft up a pattern. That’s what a lack of bust does for you folks… simple pattern drafting…

Parti-coloured surcote

This is the shortest surcote. Made of the double-knit, there’s  a slight stretch to the garment, so it should fit a few more people. The large open sides of the sideless surcote will also accommodate a few more people.

Red surcote

This is the longest surcote. (And I propped my dressform up on a small side table to photograph it to keep it off the grass!) Although I plan to donate these as largess, I imagine that our Baron & Baroness might opt to put them into Gold Key, which is why the easy-to-clean fabric is an extra bonus. I imagine that a youth wearing  jeans and a t-shirt could just put the surcote over top of her/his clothes to dress up for the event.

Although the garment is typically for female gender display, I certainly wouldn’t blink an eye if a youth identifying as male wanted to wear it.. hence “her/his” above. Oh blast the English language for not having a singular form to describe either gender!

Yellow surcote

This is the third surcote I made for largess. Along with the surcotes, I also made three little purses with drawstring tops.  I don’t know if youth would want to carry them, but I figure it rounds out the gift a bit, and I had a bit of fabric left to finish them off.

In the photo above, I’ve shown two purses open, and the bottom one cinched closed. I didn’t put an eyelet for the drawstring – the double-knit isn’t prone to fraying, so I just passed the cord through the fabric itself.

The event is Dragonslayer/ Hidden Treasures 2015. Facebook event here: https://www.facebook.com/events/1416129262027382/ 

4 comments on “Largess Youth Sideless Surcotes

  1. English, eh? And why does it only have one word for “we”? Not to mention the lack of a singular/plural distinction in the second person, or a gender-neutral singular indefinite pronoun. Or even a formal/informal distinction in the second person. OK, we used to have the last two, but they’ve kind of gone out now. Alas.

    • Dawn says:

      I can’t think of a need for more than one way of saying “we”.. but indeed, sometimes English is clunky to be accurate and inclusive. I really get twitchy when people are forced to use “they” (grammatically incorrect) for a singular, without defining gender, but I understand why individuals choose that alternative. (and “He/she” is clunky..)

Leave a Reply

