Third Naalbinding hat

My third naalbinding hat in brown heather wool

My third naalbinding hat in brown heather wool (before fulling)

In my previous post, I shared my first and second full nålbinding projects – a striped hat that definitly had room for improvement, and then a smaller brown hat which I was quite happy with – although it ended up smaller than I originally planned for it to be.

After that one, I made a THIRD hat – this time making it bigger overall, so that there would be room to full it. (Shown above, before fulling)

 

Comparing fulled and not-fulled wool naalbinding hat

Comparing fulled and not-fulled wool naalbinding hat

To full the hat, I actually just put it in the washing machine – along with warm water, agitation, and soap (a change in pH), it fulled up moderately. In the photo above I’m comparing the before-and-after texture – the hat on the left is the fulled hat, while the hat on the right has not been fulled. Both are using the same wool – Lamb’s Pride Bulky, a 85% wool, 15% mohair blend in “Brown Heather”.

Fulling it made it feel slightly denser, and less cushy – but still really soft and warm. I ended up wearing it on another cold event day with lots of rain to stay nice and toasty warm and dry – at least on my head!

Outline of brown heather wool naalbinding hat before and after fulling

Outline of brown heather wool naalbinding hat before and after fulling

This photo shows a tracing of the outline of the third hat before and after fulling. There has been a small amount of shrinkage in the ‘length’ of the garment, but more in the width of the hat. I suspect, as wool does – that I could further full it if I wanted to – but I really don’t… I really like it as-is! It’s quite water-resistant (being wool, tightly created, and fulled), toasty warm, fits perfectly (I might just drag it out of my SCA kit and add it to my winter wear when the real cold-weather comes!), and I personally think pretty darn cute. I even had more than one person ask “do you sell these?” and enthusiastically sign up as a first customer if I ever opt to 😉

Of course.. I didn’t just stop at hats… I have a few more things coming, which I will share in upcoming posts!

Keep reading!

If you want to see what I am up to when I post – you can follow me on Facebook here: Dawn’s Dress Diary where you’ll get alerts when I post new articles -as well as occasionally other photos and things that come between posts.

One comment on “Third Naalbinding hat

  1. Nessa says:

    The brown hat looks really cute on you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

