October 2015 ipsy glam bag

On October 7th I logged in to see what my October glam bag goodies would look like. I was expecting the brush I didn’t get last month, but also:

  • theBalm Cosmetics-Meet Matt(e) Hughes Long-Lasting Liquid Lipstick (in “committed” a ‘pinky-nude’)
  • IT Cosmetics-Hello Lashes® Clinically Proven 5-in-1 Mascara
  • Emité Make Up-PROFESSIONAL SLANT TWEEZER
  • Peter Lamas-Exfoliating Pumpkin Facial Scrub
  • Eva NYC-Therapy Session Hair Mask

Looking at some of the other things this month – I think I’d like either of the two darker nail polish colours… but other than that, there isn’t anything else on the list that really jumps out at me. I do wonder… haven’t I already received the pumpkin scrub before? Or was it a mask?

Once I finally received my Glam Bag….

For some odd reason, my bag didn’t come until Oct 22 – it’s usually here around the 15-17th. Not sure why it was late again, but oh well.

theBalm Cosmetics-Meet Matt(e) Hughes Long-Lasting Liquid Lipstick

“theBalm introduces a truly loyal long-lasting liquid lipstick—Meet Matt(e) Hughes. This long-wearing formula has a comfortable matte finish with no commitment issues. This matte vanilla mint liquid lipstick is stuck on you without feeling clingy!”

They weren’t kidding when they said this was matte – it’s SUPER matte – like kind of odd how matte it is. The colour is ok – a bit plain, and a bit leaning more to orange than I’d really prefer, but it’s ok. I just don’t know if I can get over how matte it is. It stays on fairly well, though did come off while drinking. 4/5

IT Cosmetics-Hello Lashes® Clinically Proven 5-in-1 Mascara

“Clinically shown to increase lash volume by 430%! Developed with leading plastic surgeons to give you luxuriously plump and healthy lashes, this conditioning 5-in-1 formula is so effective, it can replace your mascara, primer, peptide growth serum, tint and curler. Plus, the innovative brush design features a lash ball detailer that gently lifts and curls even the tiniest of lashes.”

The packaging for this came pretty wrecked – and it looked like it had been opened. This made me really suspicious – why isn’t something like mascara sealed properly anyways? I opted not to give this one a try – I don’t need to get some sort of infection from unsanitary and unsafe products. 😦 0/5

Emité Make Up-PROFESSIONAL SLANT TWEEZER

“This is a professional angled tweezer in quality steel. It applies the perfect amount of tension and maximum precision.”

I already have a scissor-style pair of tweezers that I love – they have a slightly ribbed surface which I think helps them grasp the tiny hairs really well. This set of tweezers doesn’t have that ribbed surface, but giving them a try on a few stray eyebrow hairs- they seemed to do the job just fine. The tip is angled (though I don’t know if this improves precision), and it uses a tension pinch with a nice soft silicone (type?) covering to grasp firmly. 3/5

Peter Lamas-Exfoliating Pumpkin Facial Scrub

“The Exfoliating Pumpkin Facial Scrub cleanses and polishes skin using a powerful combination of natural ingredients to reveal an illuminating, flawless complexion. The perfect dose of pumpkin just in time for October!”

A matching product to the earlier Pumpkin Cleanser, this was.. fine. There is very little ‘scrubbing’ material, mixed into a very non-lathering sort of gel. I found it a bit drying, but not too much. Really, there are far, far better scrubs out there with more scrubby material to help polish skin. 2/5

Eva NYC-Therapy Session Hair Mask

“The Therapy Session Hair Mask deeply conditions, repairs and strengthens dry and damaged hair. Argan Oil nourishes and revitalizes, while Keravis Protein drastically increases hair’s strength and elasticity. The results are hydrated, soft and manageable hair.”

This one I didn’t get to right away – I didn’t need to use a deep conditioner right away when I got this, so I needed to find the opportunity. It didn’t really seem much different than a regular conditioner mind you – not super nourishing or hydrating. eh. 3/5

 

Join me!

Want to join the Ipsy subscription craze too? If you sign up following this link: https://www.ipsy.com/new?refer=1ledf I’ll get points towards free samples and tools (like the brush I got this time)

Leave a Reply

